BBQ Potatoes with Green Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Simple and delicious - a great side dish for grilled steak. I cut the recipe in half and sprayed the inside of the foil with a bit of Pam so nothing would stick. I used seasoned salt vs. plain salt and although you could add various herbs and spices to this I think less is more.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Pretty darn good and very easy to make. They can stick to the foil so extra oil or butter is required. Also, I like them with regular onion and bacon bits. Just prior to serving, I use the uncooked chopped green onion, so that they look fresh instead of dried up and browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I used new potatoes instead and it turned out very well, except I used too many, so they didn't all touch the bottom of the foil and get crispy edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Sorry, but I wasn’t impressed with this one at all. My experience has told me that anything cooked in a foil packet is going to steam rather than get crispy, and this recipe did exactly that. My hope was that the butter would brown them a bit, but that didn't happen. They were pale and didn’t look appetizing, and I think I'm being generous with my 3* rating. I think this would have been much better if done the way I typically roast potatoes, in the oven, on a baking sheet or in an oven-proof skillet, and left uncovered. I may try again, but not as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Hubs made this for us tonight and it was simple but delicious. He said he enjoyed himself making it too, largely because of the flexibility to be creative with seasonings. The green onions, however, are a must. The submitter is right - they really do contribute a lot of flavor, much more so than just plain onions do. Rather than large baking potatoes, we used baby Yukon Golds, as we love their creaminess and buttery flavor. Hubs seasoned them with Penzey's Shallot Salt and Penzey's Chicago Seasoning. So many different herbs or spices could be used to season these, but I'm sure they're just as delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Very good recipe. I also added a couple of peeled garlic cloves to the packet. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVEELANE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I make this often. I go heavy on the onions and use olive oil instead of butter. I also ad a clove of garlic for each individual pack and sometimes frozen green beans. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLFBHARD
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
These were very good! It might help to spray foil with Pam cooking spray so potatoes won't stick! Also, next time will probably put in more butter and maybe some bacon bits!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Great potatoes. I have made them with green onions as well as regular onions. Wonderful with steak or sausages on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Just a suggestion on the name, bbq isn't an accurate description, maybe 'grilled potatoes' would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States