BBQ Potato Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I've made these several times just in the past few weeks. They're delicious! Only variation I made was to use olive oil instead of regular vegetable oil. The first time I made them, I made the mistake of allowing them to boil too long, which made quite a mess because they were too "mushy" to work with. (MY mistake!) Now I make sure they're still somewhat firm when removing them from the boiling water. Great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I cooked these wonderful potatoes in the oven instead of the grill, and used olive oil (also, blanched them for 2 minutes to make peeling easier). A total hit, everyone wanted to know how I made them, and my kids asked that we have them frequently. Thanks, Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
very, very easy, and delicious and no matter how you spice it up, you can't go wrong! I have used butter flavored Pam and sprinkled dill weed and seasoned salt on the potatoes, and my kids love that. I have also cut onions, green and red pepper and added that to the potatoes (after they were boiled)with olive oil and seasoned salt and thats great too. This recipe is very versatile if you like to experiment with different herbs, oils, and seasonings to accomodate the meat you are b-b-queing. A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
These are great. Instead of boiling I baked them until slightly tender and then put on the grill. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
Thanks Christine - we absolutely love our potatoes cooked this way - we even coat red peppers, onions and zuchini the same way - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
The trick is to watch these so they don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This is an easy and tasty way to make potatoes!! My kids peeled the potatoes for me, all I had to do is chop them in half, cook them for 15 minutes, toss with oil and seasoning salt, and hand to my husband to BBQ. It was great!! I made this recipe twice so far, once with OLD BAY seasoning, and once with LAWRY's Seasoning Salt. They were both good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
I made this a little differently...I actually used a italian dressing instead of the oil...and then added salt and Mrs. Dash seasoning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
We loved this BBQ potato recipe! I used red potatoes, cut into quarters and left the skins on. I then took the zip-lock bag suggestion: used olive oil instead of vegetable and shook the potatoes in a mix of season salt, garlic, and onion powder. Very good. Goes great with any grilled meat. Thanks Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I microwaved the potatoes in a closed dish with no water after peeling & cutting them instead of boiling, then shook them in a ziploc bag to coat with oil, then put on grill. They were GREAT! My husband said "the best french fries I've ever eaten." Really easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States