BBQ Potato Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Very good, very easy and basic. I cut the potatoes into wedges and boiled them. Then put them in a ziploc bag with olive oil, salt and pepper, lawry's seasoning salt, and garlic powder...and shook it up. Then I put them on the grill until they had darkened a little and gotten crispy. They were delicious!! Those of you that said they weren't flavorful enough....they are potatoes! You have to add the flavor!! Very very good! I was excited to find a potato recipe I could use on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
We loved this BBQ potato recipe! I used red potatoes, cut into quarters and left the skins on. I then took the zip-lock bag suggestion: used olive oil instead of vegetable and shook the potatoes in a mix of season salt, garlic, and onion powder. Very good. Goes great with any grilled meat. Thanks Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I microwaved the potatoes in a closed dish with no water after peeling & cutting them instead of boiling, then shook them in a ziploc bag to coat with oil, then put on grill. They were GREAT! My husband said "the best french fries I've ever eaten." Really easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I cooked these wonderful potatoes in the oven instead of the grill, and used olive oil (also, blanched them for 2 minutes to make peeling easier). A total hit, everyone wanted to know how I made them, and my kids asked that we have them frequently. Thanks, Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I've made these several times just in the past few weeks. They're delicious! Only variation I made was to use olive oil instead of regular vegetable oil. The first time I made them, I made the mistake of allowing them to boil too long, which made quite a mess because they were too "mushy" to work with. (MY mistake!) Now I make sure they're still somewhat firm when removing them from the boiling water. Great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
Thanks Christine - we absolutely love our potatoes cooked this way - we even coat red peppers, onions and zuchini the same way - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
A few simple ingredients and a simple preparation made for some delicious potatoes! I boiled tiny, baby Yukons in liberally salted water until almost tender, 8-10 minutes. Hubby seasoned them with olive oil, Lawry's seasoned salt and Penzeys Chicago steak seasoning, then skewered them on bamboo skewers which had been soaked in water. He grilled these along with Vinegar Grilled Chicken and Grilled Lemon-Pepper Zucchini (recipes also from this site) and it all made for a delicious grilled dinner with no mess in the kitchen! Basic, unembellished way of seasoning and cooking these potatoes but they were anything but ordinary! Loved 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
These were interesting, a nice change from grilled potatoes in foil. I added a little too much salt to mine, but that was a minor thing. The potatoes were best where the outside got crispy. They are super easy and really not very fattening. I think I will try it with other spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
The trick is to watch these so they don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
While these aren't the prettiest potatoes I've ever made (add a sprinkling of parsley if you're serving to fancy-schmancy neighbors), they were NOT hard to make at all. I used redskins and only half the oil and seasoning salt. Since the recipe doesn't supply the size of potato to use, I was worried my reds were too small for all that flavor. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States