BBQ Pork Salad with Summer Fruits and Honey Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This is a really good recipe and a good example of why I love Allrecipes. In the Search bar, I plugged in cooked pork (roast beef leftovers) and avocado and this was the only recipe to pop up. I had no grapefruit but I had some mangoes - not exactly the tartness that grapefruit would bring to the salad but it worked. My husband's on cholesterol-lowering meds so grapefruit is out. I had no cherry tomatoes but cut up a regular tomato. I have no idea what the 1 tbsp salad oil was for, which is shown in the first column of ingredients. I didn't use it, nor did I salt and pepper the greens. I tossed all the salad ingredients together with the salad dressing, the recipe for which I followed to a T. You don't need as much dressing when you toss everything together - making for less calories per serving. Ab so lutely delicious. I'll be making this again. Probably tomorrow;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jgoff22
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Great, easy recipe! I subbed balsamic vinaigrette dressing for making my own. Quick! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Outstanding use for leftover pork! Everything about this was just yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Made this recipe exactly as written (minus the almonds) and everyone practically licked their plates clean. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and marinated boneless pork chops in the dressing and they were definitely the highlight of the salad. I also used more lettuce than was called for, 2 cups of lettuce is not a salad, and I wish that I had used even more. All of the flavors went together really well and everyone requested that I make this again, even the non-salad eating guys!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
"You can make this one again"...high praise from my salad-averse hubby. I absolutely loved it. Followed recipe exactly, except for addition of some fresh figs that I had on hand. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
The strange fruits had me a little nervous, but this salad was delicious! The dressing was the perfect thing to bring all the flavors together. As many others suggested, I only used 1 T. of mayo and added a tablespoon of red wine vinegar to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
loved it. I omitted the grapefruit as my husband doesn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
So, so good! Awesome summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I am rating this on the dressing alone because I didn't have all the other ingredients. But I don't think it mattered. It was really good! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Fantastic salad. The dressing is definitely what made it. I added red onion to give more flavour and also added feta cheese to compliment the balsamic vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States