BBQ Pork Salad with Summer Fruits and Honey Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I was a little nervous making something that had no reviews yet, but this was delicious! It looked gorgeous in presentation, and I loved all the different flavors. The recipe doesn't give instructions for cooking the pork chops so I had to wing it. I coated them with a little olive oil and a combination of salt, pepper, and chili powder. Let them sit for awhile to absorb the flavors, then put them on the stovetop in a grill pan over medium heat. I covered the pan with aluminum foil and cooked for 10 mins (flipping once halfway through). Internal temp ~145. I removed from heat and let them sit awhile more to finish cooking, then sliced. They turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
For a lower calorie dressing you can omit the mayo. It still has a nice flavor. Also, I was feeling lazy and didn't want to use the blender, so besides omitting mayo, I used dry mustard instead of dijon. I also added some dried basil, oregano and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
"This is by far the best salad I've ever eaten," said my husband, halfway through dinner -- and several more times after that. I was stunned, because he dines at our city's best restaurants every day for lunch. Everyone commented on the way the flavors come together in this elegant salad. I grilled thick, marinated chops the day before. For the fruit, used peaches and plums. Sprinkled lemon juice on the avocado. Pan roasted the almonds in a bit of oil, and toward the end, I added a little sugar to the almonds. Tomatoes were fresh out of the garden. I doubled the dressing and added a T. of red wine vinegar (in addn. to the balsamic) because it was quite thick. This will be on my menu when company arrives next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Photo by musiclver_2000
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Great Summer Salad!! I marinated a pork tenderloin overnight in a soy-maple based marinade, rinsed off the marinade, patted dry and grilled on high for 5 mins per side (20 mins. total). Omitted the grapefruit, grilled the nectarine slices and added a pinch of salt, cayenne and sugar to the toasted almonds. I'm a personal chef and my boss loved this salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Luzerne, New York, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Fantastic!!! Such a delicious combination of flavors. And the dressing is outstanding!!! Even my husband who's not a big salad guy raved about it. I used center cut bonless pork chops, seasoned with salt, pepper & garlic powder and pan fried them for about 5-6 minutes per side until just done. If you have left over pork of any kind even better! You could substitute chicken, but the pork really pairs well with the fruits. Add your favorite loaf of bread and it's a perfect summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, even using the grapefruit (other reviewers omitted). It was very tasty, and the flavors - though diverse - went together very well. The dressing was a perfect compliment. Great way to use leftover pork chops. Great easy summer meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Ford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MexicoKaren
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Thanks so much for this original and delicious summer salad! Hubby and I both loved this - such a refreshing combination of flavors and textures. I substituted plums for the grapefruit, and used pork tenderloin instead of chops, but kept everything else the same. I think next time I might add a little chopped red onion. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Wonderful light balsamic dressing. I used Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar and topped it with Chow Mein Noodles for a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I REALLY LIKED THE VINAIGRETTE. WE LIKED THIS A LOT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I agree with the previous reviewer: Leave out the grapefruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States