BBQ Pork for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I, like others, used a 3lb pork butt roast instead of ribs. Cooked it in the crockpot with the beef broth on high for 4 hours. Then I turned it down to low for 2 more hours. So tender I had to remove it from the crockpot with a slotted spoon! I pulled it apart, emptied the broth from the crockpot. Then I decided to play with my cheap honey bbq sauce. I added about 1/4-1/2 cup of cider vinegar to it, to make it taste more like my husband's native North Carolina bbq sauce. HUGE hit!!! Hubby and son ate til they were sick, lol! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSMCGEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Paris, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Really easy and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Easy but delicious. Be sure and use a good sauce. personally, store brand wont taste as good. sweet baby rays, kc masterpiece, bullseye, etc, but please use a good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen73076

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used a 3.5 lb pork butt. I cooked it in my slow cooker for 4 hrs. I drained the broth and shredded the pork. I added the pork back into my slow cooker with approximately 1.5 cups of bbq sauce. I set the slow cooker on warm and warmed it up for 30 minutes then served. The pork was cooked perfectly. I added more bbq sauce on the pork sandwiches so everyone could have their choice of hot bbq sauce, mild bbq sauce or honey bbq sauce. For how easy this recipe is to make and the few ingredients required to make it, this really is a great recipe. A keeper! Especially for the nights I don't feel like cooking! Great leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was hands down the best pulled pork ever. My mom even had to admit it was better than hers. I just cooked it for the times they recommended and used Jack Daniels Smokey Honey bbq. I will be using the recipe again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I used pork shoulder for about 10hrs. shredded it and oh my, it was so good. used jack Daniels barbque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittycat2007

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Great and easy recipe. The meat comes out very tender. The only thing I don't recommend is using sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce, leaves it a little too sweet. Otherwise, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I've been making pulled pork in the crock pot forever. Toss it in with a bottle of bbq sauce. Serve it on a bun at the end of the day. This didn't taste much different, but involved an extra step (and dirty pot). It was good - but more work. And I would definitely add an onion and a bell pepper to the crock pot (gives it so much more depth of flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
At the suggestion of another reviewer I used pork butt instead. I slow cooked it for 8 hours and it shredded so easy. I added the bbq sauce and marinated it over night then 4 hours before dinner I put it back in the slow cooker. I will say it was really mushy though. It tastes amazing but the texture is off. I have no problem with texture (I'd never be able to eat sushi if I did) but if that is something that is important to you, I suggest following the recipe and bake it in the oven. I may do that next time around instead of slow cooking it for so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
very good and very easy. Kind of sloppy with all the sauce. The kids really liked them. 2nd time I made- drained off liquid after cooking then added BBQ...see notes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork for Sandwiches

This tasty pork is great on your favorite bun. It’s simple to make, too.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States