BBQ Miso Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Delicious! I have used different types of miso and different brands of beer but it's always a hit. Also works well for marinating vegetables (in a separate bowl or bag) and then I use the vegetable marinade for basting. The only change I make is to cut up the chicken and cook it on skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I loved this. I served on top of egg noodles. I added fresh ground ginger, garlic, olive oil, (it helps blacken most meats) and whatever cayenne. Grilled indoors on a Jenn Air. Reserved some of the marinade and cooked it down to thick sauce and poured it over the plate....Guests were blown away. I am going to do the same tonight but am going to use shrimp on skewers served over a think pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Don't marinate the chicken longer than 4 or 5 hours!! Although the taste was great, I did over marinate, and it was WAY too salty. Follow the instructions.... It's a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I added small amount of Thai red curry sauce and some saki and put this recipe into overdrive. This will definitely be added to line up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Used less sugar and more cayenne, also some Japanese ichimi to match the miso. I threw some shiitake mushrooms and green onions into the marinade as well. AWESOME, and you can drink the rest of the beer you don't use... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Was OK, no revelation here. I prepared the marinade with white miso and the flavor didn't really come through. I suspect that had I made it with a different type of miso it would have been better. Overall the chicken was fine, but after chilling for 11 hours in a sea of yummy marinade the flavor didn't quiet permiate well, and the sugar burned during cooking. While I liked the taste of marinade alone and I think it would work well as a dipping sauce (at least with white miso), I will not be using this recipe again for marinading chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This recipe definitely delivered! It was a very welcome change in my home since some members of my family cannot have acidic foods. So that means no barbeque sauces with tomatoes or vinegar. I even substituted tahini mixed with some anchovy paste when I ran out of miso. The marinating process definitely helps to tenderize the meat. I've used this recipe with pork, lamb and beef and it was a hit everytime. A recipe to keep close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Excellent! I didn't have beer on hand so I used dry white. Will try beer next time. For those not familiar with miso, give it a try. Miso is soybeans fermented with rice and/or barley. Most common miso is white or red. White miso is more mild and sweet. I use it mostly for salad dressings. Red miso is quite bold in taste and is excellent in marinades, as in this recipe, or soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Fast, easy and delicious! I baked it at 350 for 45 min and kept basting throughout. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDYANNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Ashley & Whitney's Tip for BBQ Chicken Wings

See an easy way to make sweet-and-spicy BBQ chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States