BBQ Miso Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Full of flavor and a hit with the family. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Good recipe. Can be a little salty with the red miso and soy sauce. Next time I will reduce the soy sauce and substitute a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This is a good recipe. The second time I made it, I used sake instead of beer, added minced garlic and ginger, and a splash of mirin. Came out very tasty and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I really liked it and the chicken medallions grilled up beautifully, but if you're not a huge miso fan, it can be a bit overwhelming. My 2 & 5 year olds ate it right up (I kept their non cayenne pepper marinade separate from ours). It made a lot of wasted marinade. I think I could have made 1/3 of it and been just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
My family loved this dish. It was pretty salty, but I think it's either because I used regular soy sauce or that it marinated for 5 hours. I'll try it again, playing with the marinating time. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was simple, delicious and turned out great. I baked it instead of grilled it, as I do not have a grill, and it turned out juicy, flavorful and not at all salty. Served it over soba noodles topped with aka-shoga (pickled red ginger). I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJSayaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This is a good recipe, but not spectacular. I think it's a great starting point. The chicken is nice and tender, but a little uninspired. Next time I'll try either using sake instead of beer, OR sticking with the beer, but adding a generous amount of minced or grated fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
VERY VERY good I baked(no grill), made only 1/2 recipe of the marinade, but used the full 2 ½ lbs of chix (glad I did b/c all wanted leftovers!). I cut each breast half in 4 pieces b/c they were huge & was concerned about them getting done. I marinated in a pyrex casserole covered w/foil for 1½ hrs. Even though I made a 1/2 recipe of the marinade I used only 1/2 of that (so abt 1/4 orig recipe). Drizzled it on top turned them over a couple of times to make sure they were covered and sitting in it. Prehtd to 350, took dish straight from frig to oven and cooked it 15 min, then quickly turned the pieces over (inspecting how much longer they needed to cook) & added some sweet potato chunks & baby carrots around the edges of the pan. Put back in oven & cooked 15 more min. covered. Took out, turned pieces again in sauce (vegs incl.) left foil off, cooked an addtl 5 min (yes, lg breasts). Then turned oven off leaving them in 'til ready to eat….abt 15 more min. Wish I’d made rice to soak up the sauce it made…next time. For anyone worried about the raw chicken/ marinade/ cooking thing: b/c it was a preheated oven & cooked over 30 min, the marinade simmers & reaches a temp hot enough to kill bacteria– in fact it simmers most of the time its cooking so it’s very safe. If the chicken is done all the way through they’re both safe. Only minus to recipe is waaay too much marinade. Too good to remove a star, just be aware - if you make extra, keep away from raw ckn & use it later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was absolutely awesome! Made it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I have been looking for ways to make chicken breasts flavorful and this recipe did this. I grilled it along with steaks and I was surprised to see people going back for the chicken. This was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States