BBQ Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jinky Cendaña
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
my husband loves it!!! I used phil's bbq sauce:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jinky Cendaña

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
A mild flavored bbq sauce. I made the meatballs and they were nothing special. Next time I make this dish I will use premade meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
We really liked these meatballs! I did make a couple of small changes. Because I cut the recipe to 8 servings, I used only one package of Jennie-O ground turkey breast (1 1/4 lb), and I didn't add water but rather pineapple juice. I also sprinkled in a little Tajin (a new favorite seasoning). For the sauce I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes, no puree, Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce, no brown sugar (because of the BBQ sauce), and only a big squirt of catsup. I didn't have pineapple but used pineapple juice instead. I browned the one-ounce meatballs in a tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of olive oil before adding them to finish cooking in the sauce. This is a really nice recipe that I will definitely make again! I have enough left over for another meal for the two of us, and we will look forward to this! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this for a potluck and it was a hit! SOOO delicious! The sauce is amazing! The only change I made was that I used all turkey and I added 1 chopped onion to the meatball mixture. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Didn't try the meatballs, but I did make this sauce for use with frozen meatballs. Heads up everyone, it makes ALOT. The sauce was delicious, but I prefer my bbq sauces to be a bit more smokey and definitely less tomato. Thanks for the basic recipe, I look forward to altering it to my preference next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I made these meatballs for a potluck at work and have been hailed the meatball queen. I did make a couple small alterations due to ingredients I had on hand. I used ground pork instead of turkey, a 28-oz bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's and omitted the vodka and crushed tomatoes. I made the meatballs and sauce the night before then cooked them in the crock pot on low for about 2.5 hours at work the next morning. They turned out fabulous! I'm sure the original recipe would be just as good. All my coworkers have said that I must bring these meatballs to all future potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Really good and very easy! I used all turkey and omitted all of the vodka from the recipe. I also used all fresh tomatoes from my garden (instead of the canned) and cooked them together with all of the other sauce ingredients. Also, baked the meatballs in a 400 degree oven for about 40 minutes (while making the sauce)... I put them in a crock pot and poured only half of the sauce over the meatballs. I froze the other half of the sauce to use later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I've made these meatballs many times for parties and always get rave reviews. I make them every year for our New Years Eve party and there is never a single meatball left. The only thing that I change is that I use ground pork instead of ground beef because I don't eat beef. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I have used this recipe at least 10 times now! WONDERFUL meatballs! I actually use frozen meatballs, but I prepare the sauce as written (except I have usually left out the vodka) and then throw everything in a crock pot. It is sooooo good! I use Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce - our personal fave - amazing! I've also had good luck with KC's. YUM! I can only imagine how much better this is with the homemade meatballs! Someday I will try! I've also thrown Little Smokies/Mini Hot Dogs in the sauce. Sometimes I will just let the sauce cook first in the crock pot, and add the meatballs after awhile. They usually heat up pretty well, and this keeps 'em from getting soggy. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
followed recipes completely. meatballs where mushy, and sauce was too tomatoey. will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States