BBQ Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
We really liked these meatballs! I did make a couple of small changes. Because I cut the recipe to 8 servings, I used only one package of Jennie-O ground turkey breast (1 1/4 lb), and I didn't add water but rather pineapple juice. I also sprinkled in a little Tajin (a new favorite seasoning). For the sauce I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes, no puree, Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce, no brown sugar (because of the BBQ sauce), and only a big squirt of catsup. I didn't have pineapple but used pineapple juice instead. I browned the one-ounce meatballs in a tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of olive oil before adding them to finish cooking in the sauce. This is a really nice recipe that I will definitely make again! I have enough left over for another meal for the two of us, and we will look forward to this! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this for a potluck and it was a hit! SOOO delicious! The sauce is amazing! The only change I made was that I used all turkey and I added 1 chopped onion to the meatball mixture. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Didn't try the meatballs, but I did make this sauce for use with frozen meatballs. Heads up everyone, it makes ALOT. The sauce was delicious, but I prefer my bbq sauces to be a bit more smokey and definitely less tomato. Thanks for the basic recipe, I look forward to altering it to my preference next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I made these meatballs for a potluck at work and have been hailed the meatball queen. I did make a couple small alterations due to ingredients I had on hand. I used ground pork instead of turkey, a 28-oz bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's and omitted the vodka and crushed tomatoes. I made the meatballs and sauce the night before then cooked them in the crock pot on low for about 2.5 hours at work the next morning. They turned out fabulous! I'm sure the original recipe would be just as good. All my coworkers have said that I must bring these meatballs to all future potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Really good and very easy! I used all turkey and omitted all of the vodka from the recipe. I also used all fresh tomatoes from my garden (instead of the canned) and cooked them together with all of the other sauce ingredients. Also, baked the meatballs in a 400 degree oven for about 40 minutes (while making the sauce)... I put them in a crock pot and poured only half of the sauce over the meatballs. I froze the other half of the sauce to use later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I've made these meatballs many times for parties and always get rave reviews. I make them every year for our New Years Eve party and there is never a single meatball left. The only thing that I change is that I use ground pork instead of ground beef because I don't eat beef. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I have used this recipe at least 10 times now! WONDERFUL meatballs! I actually use frozen meatballs, but I prepare the sauce as written (except I have usually left out the vodka) and then throw everything in a crock pot. It is sooooo good! I use Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce - our personal fave - amazing! I've also had good luck with KC's. YUM! I can only imagine how much better this is with the homemade meatballs! Someday I will try! I've also thrown Little Smokies/Mini Hot Dogs in the sauce. Sometimes I will just let the sauce cook first in the crock pot, and add the meatballs after awhile. They usually heat up pretty well, and this keeps 'em from getting soggy. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
followed recipes completely. meatballs where mushy, and sauce was too tomatoey. will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
At first I didn't think this recipe was that good. Though I think part of my impression was because of the bad choice in trying to pair it with cooked linguine. I intentionally made the full yield in order to have left overs. I didn't have an issue with them not cooking through enough. As the sauce was simmering, I used a large skillet and browned the meatballs in small batches before adding them to the pot with the sauce. They cooked through while the sauce simmered for about an hour. Reheating them and serving them alone I realize that they are quite tasty. I agree with one of the other reviewers that these would make great meatball subs. Though I didn't initially like them, my family did. And I've since served some of the left over meatballs and gotten many compliments. These do take a while to make, but they are worth it. Something that might help cut down on prep time is to have a few volunteers with you to form the meatballs. This might go without saying, though I've learned the hard way that you need to be careful when you are simmering the sauce so that it doesn't become burnt on the bottom of the pot. A splatter screen is a good idea too. Thanks Liane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was a great recipe. I altered it a little and used bround turkey and sausage finely cut. I also left out the vodka. My family loved this and I will be making it agan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States