BBQ Hotdogs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Instead of a pound of kielbasa, I used a 13-oz pkg of Hillshire Farm® Chicken Hardwood Smoked Sausage (lowering fat and calories), and I must admit I made other changes, as well. After reading the reviews, it was apparent that the amount of molasses was going to overwhelm everything, so I added only 2 Tbsp. I used an 8-oz can of Spanish tomato sauce which has quite a kick to it and provided the perfect balance to the sweet molasses. Also sautéed some sliced onions and bell pepper with the sausage, making it more of a main dish, added the optional BBQ sauce, and served over chicken herb rice. I think this is just one of those recipes where you have to adjust the ingredients to your own personal taste. As written, I know I wouldn’t have enjoyed it nearly as much as I did tweaking. Not sure why this is titled BBQ Hotdogs since it calls for kielbasa, definitely a misnomer. Nothing fancy-schmancy here, but with the modifications I made, it was quite a satisfying comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was not good as is. The ratio from meat to sauce was extremely way off. I followed to a T and there was 4 to 5 times the amount of sauce to 1 pound of meat before I had to salvage what I made. I don't know if it was to sauce up the rice that much because the rice and sausage would be swimming. But I had tons of sauce left over that get got wasted. The molasses was way to strong and way to sweet for this. I had to try and salvage this, so that my kids would eat the BBQ w/ sausage, I added the optional BBQ sauce and it even over powered it. I totally had to add the 6 ounces of remaining tomato sauce(because we can't get 10oz sized cans where I live) so it was entire 16 ounces of tomato sauce and ended up using a full 1/2 cup of BBQ because 1/4 cup just didn't cut out the sweetness of the molasses either. Sorry...won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This really turned out tasty. I would use more rice next time as we had a lot of sauce, but then I used a 16oz tomato sauce, not 10oz. I think the hickory & brown sugar bbq sauce we used added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was given mixed reviews at our dinner table. I enjoyed the flavors and so did one of our kids, but 3 didn't, so will probably change it up a bit next time. I did an an onion and used honey bbq sauce. The sauce wasn't thick enough for me, so I mixed a little cornstarch and that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
great quick dinner....didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Quick, easy and my husband loved it. I cut back on the molasses per previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magra2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
There's nothing mind-blowing about this recipe, but it's quick, easy, and great for when you're running low on groceries. I omitted the molasses, and added a little brown sugar. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Considering the limited ingredients, I was not expecting gourmet fare. As per other reviews, I added a TBSP. of brown sugar, and then after tasting it I still felt that it needed SOMETHING. So, I added some diced green pepper and a bit of crushed pineapple. Unfortunately, it still turned out like something that I won't ever make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
WONDERFUL! I LOVE kielbasa! And this was just great! I was a litle nervous about so much molasses, but just keep cooking it and makes the meat taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
My family loved this! It was so fast and easy to make, it is good, home cooking for a busy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States