BBQ Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
If I could give this recipe 100 stars I would. We absolutely LOVED this. The only suggestion I would make is to cut the salt to a quarter of a cup (if you are sodium sensitive). But,otherwise..YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I discovered this recipe today. Made it, ate it, and loved it!!! My husband and I devoured a whole rack of pork ribs. It was an insane feeding frenzy. We usually don't go from civilized to animal-like when at the dinner table, but we never cooked tasty ribs like this either. I have to admit that I did follow the suggestions of several other reviewers by adding other seasonings. My husband and I have a palate for bold flavors. So, I experimented with all sorts of spices that I had in my spice rack (tandori spices, chipotle spices, chili powder, cayenne, onion powder, garlic powder, and season salt). I ran a taste test to compare how this recipe would stand up to two store-bought dry rubs (Porky's Memphis Dry Rub and McCormick's Grill Mate's Pork Rub). By far, this recipe beat out the competition. The sweet, salty flavors just enhanced the meat. We literally could not wait to take the next bite. I recommend this recipe to all. I also recommend experimenting with several spices to cater to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Delicious!!!! It was fantastic on porkchops. A keynote....use SMOKED paprika, it gives a great BBQ twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Decent. I made this rub because my husband loves BBQ and it was so basic. However, I did some other on-line searches and saw that most dry rubs are essentially the same, but many added other spices, so, I took some liberties with this recipe. I added pinch(es) of garlic powder, chili powder, paprika and ground red pepper. Also, I marinated the chicken in the dry rub for about 2 hours (just b/c I had the time on this particular day). Just before cooking, I loosed the skin and rubbed the meat with extra dry rub. With about 3 minutes left of cooking, I dropped a healthy dollop of store bought bbq sauce (we use "Sweet Baby Ray's" original) on each piece, I think that was a huge improvement. I would make this again but, I'd play with the spices again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
i made this rub for the first time. i will definately be using it again... i wasn't sure how it would taste so i scaled down the recipe a bit but i wish i would have made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was great, I made it for Mother's Day. Me and my daughter loved it. The only thing we did different was bake it in the oven and my daughter helped who is only 3 years old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Wow. This rub is excellent on chicken! I have people begging me to make it again. Very easy to make. Great on ribs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is a great rub recipe. After reading reviews I added 1 Tablespoon onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, plus 1 teaspoon chili powder. It is perfect and I just had to make another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
One of the best rubs I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is fantastic! A great way to spruce up plain old chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States