BBQ Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Unlike most people, I used it on chicken...Very good rub...I suggest you cut down on the black pepper if you don't like spicy foods. Also, I added garlic powder to the mix. Only let it marinate for aprox 10 mins due to time constraints and it was still great. Thx Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
There is a heck of a lot of this rub to store after use, and I didn't enjoy it that much -- neither did my husband. But, hey, it's good to try new things! I just found it had an overly peppery taste, where my husband thought it was overly sweet...? It also made a lot of juice come out of the meat once it was rubbed in and sat in the fridge for a few minutes... is that normal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNYBABY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bentley, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Spicy, but very tasty! One of our favorites! I ease up on the pepper a little, husband does not like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I first used this recipe on ribs and it was ok, but not quite what I expected. Next I used it on a pork shoulder roast that was stuffed with garlic and it turned out awesome. Everyone was raving about how good the roast was with the rub on it. Now I only use it on roasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
made this for a causal BBQ, and i had my doubts cos i watch license to grill and that dude adds LOTS of flavor, and marinades his meat for like forever. husband grilled this one to PERFECTION. i only marinaded it for like 2 hrs. and slathered tony roma's bbq sauce over it while it was cooking off the heat. meat was tender and it was gone in a flash. good stuff! gave me the confidence to experiment more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIELEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I had never tried a dry rub before. This was sensational! I used it on pork chops and then grilled. My family loved it. I did cut back on the salt and pepper, as others recommended. I also used a little less paprika and added 1/4 cup garlic powder. Will definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Very delicious! I was kind of rushed so I parboiled the country style ribs for 10 minutes, let them cool slightly and then rubbed them. I let them sit on the counter for about 10 minutes and then grilled them for about 10 minutes to finish them off. They were tasty and tender. Next time I will probably try to use the rub as intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
My husband, who usually does the ribs, even gave me a complement on this one. While we usually go for spicy, it was nice to have a break and just enjoy the flavor of the ribs. I might add a little cayenne next time, but this is an aweseome basic rub. I'll keep it on hand for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Awesome recipe! Simple and delicious! I've made them many many times already. Tastes really great with chicken wings and especially delicious on baby ribs. Just rub on, wrap in aluminium foil and bake. There is however not enough of the wonderful meat juice. Putting on more rub doesn't give more juice either; it just gets overpowering. I usually go with the ratio of 5:5:2:1:1:1 (brown sugar - white sugar - salt - black pepper - paprika powder - garlic powder). The garlic powder is pretty important. I gotta memorise that, because people keep asking for it. I also like to add some dried parsley (but it actually only adds to the visual appeal). Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Lets just put it this way. I have used this rub on everything. Only thing I didn't care for was on beef. I do add some garlic but other than that I can't tell you how many people have wanted the recipe. I even deep fried a whole pork loin marinated in this rub. Outside turns black due to the sugar but tastes awesome. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States