BBQ Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Delicious!!!! It was fantastic on porkchops. A keynote....use SMOKED paprika, it gives a great BBQ twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Decent. I made this rub because my husband loves BBQ and it was so basic. However, I did some other on-line searches and saw that most dry rubs are essentially the same, but many added other spices, so, I took some liberties with this recipe. I added pinch(es) of garlic powder, chili powder, paprika and ground red pepper. Also, I marinated the chicken in the dry rub for about 2 hours (just b/c I had the time on this particular day). Just before cooking, I loosed the skin and rubbed the meat with extra dry rub. With about 3 minutes left of cooking, I dropped a healthy dollop of store bought bbq sauce (we use "Sweet Baby Ray's" original) on each piece, I think that was a huge improvement. I would make this again but, I'd play with the spices again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
i made this rub for the first time. i will definately be using it again... i wasn't sure how it would taste so i scaled down the recipe a bit but i wish i would have made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was great, I made it for Mother's Day. Me and my daughter loved it. The only thing we did different was bake it in the oven and my daughter helped who is only 3 years old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Wow. This rub is excellent on chicken! I have people begging me to make it again. Very easy to make. Great on ribs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is a great rub recipe. After reading reviews I added 1 Tablespoon onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, plus 1 teaspoon chili powder. It is perfect and I just had to make another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
One of the best rubs I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is fantastic! A great way to spruce up plain old chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
We made pork ribs and they came out moist and tender and delicious! We rubbed half with this rub and left it on for a few hours before adding bottled BBQ sauce which marinated all night. The other half we did not use the rub, only the BBQ sauce. Both were great but I think the ones WITH the rub were a little more tender and had a better flavor. We wrapped them very well in thick foil and placed them on a large sheet pan and still managed to have drippings in the bottom of the oven --they give off a lot of liquid, which we ended up draining about 30 minutes before we pulled them out of the oven. Overall great result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I followed this to a T, and it came out sticky and tangy and inedible. I had to toss out some good pork tenderloins on this. Sorry, but wasnt for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States