BBQ Country Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I gave it 5 stars but I did adjust several things as others had suggested. I covered bottom of pan in 1/16" water, sealed tightly with foil and cooked ribs 2 hrs. at 300. I then opened foil and drained all juices off. I covered ribs in 18 oz of BBQ sauce and 1 tsp. dried onion flakes. I then replaced foil and cooked at 275 for another 40 minutes. I used 3.5 lbs very meaty country style ribs. They were the most tender and moist ribs I'd ever made! They were falling off the bone and very moist still. I got the foil idea from another poster and also the bit of water as I did not want lemon. I also mix about 3-4 different bottles sauces to come up with the one we like best. We don't care for the one most posters mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1893 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Try baking them at 350 degrees in a foil covered pan for 1 1/2 hours. Drain the fat, add your bbq sauce and continue cooking for another 1/2 hour uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I use this, particularly in the winter when the outdoor grill is off limits. It is fantastic. For those of you who may not know the difference, "country style ribs" refers to the cut of meat not the manner of preparation. There are three types of "ribs". Spare ribs which come from the belly, baby back which come from the loin, and country style which are no actually ribs and are cut from the blade end of the loin. Country style ribs have by far and away much more meat and very little if any bone. And it is precisely the extra marbling and meat that allows them to cook so long. If you tried this and the meat was too dry, you probably used the wrong cut. If you are dead certain you used the proper cut, you might try a simple light to moderate brining solution for 12-24 hrs. But I've never had this method let me down. And don't reserve this for BBQ. Use it with any sauce you like... cranberry, marinaded asian, etc... The important ingredient in this method is the proper cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1031 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Okay, can I just say...Y-U-M?!?!?!?!?!?!?! These ribs were absolutely delicious! My local store had the country style pork ribs on sale, so I stocked up my freezer, and boy am I glad I did now that I have this great recipe!!! My husband absolutely loved them as well! Instead of just the ribs with BBQ sauce poured over them (which isn't a bad thing!), the tender meat had this subtle taste of garlic and lemon going all through it! I used a large non-stick roasting pan, so that each rib wasn't touching. I rubbed them generously with kosher salt and minced garlic (from the jar, gotta love convenience) all over. I ended up using about 3 or 4 lemons, and layed lemon slices so that they covered the ribs completely. Baked at 250 for about 2 and a 1/2 hours, then took the lemon OFF, poured Head Country BBQ sauce (the absolute BEST!) all over them, and baked for a little over an hour at 225 degrees. I cannot express how delicious they were, and I am VERY much looking forward to the leftovers tonight! This is now the only way I will prepare pork ribs! Oh, and make sure and serve a little extra BBQ sauce warmed up on the side...especially if you LOVE it as much as I do!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This is a nice, easy recipe that will yield tender meat. I did not have lemon - so I just sprinkled ribs (liberally) with garlic salt, and baked in a shallow baking pan (uncovered) for 2 full hours at 250 degrees. I drained the juice off, added the bbq sauce, and continued cooking for another full hour. The meat was delicious and VERY tender. Really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Good Lord these ribs were awesome! Everyone in my house loved them. I had 2 pans so I cooked them at 325 for 2 hours covered with aluminum foil. After 2 hours I drained the juice and covered the ribs with BBQ sauce. I turned the temp down to 275 and left the foil on for another 30 minutes. I then removed the foil for 20 minutes to let the sauce thicken. So a total of 2 hours and 50 minutes. The ribs fell off the bone! I also used tenderizer, minced garlic, fresh lemon (which I squeezed over the ribs) and sliced onions. Oh, I did not add water. If you use the right ribs and keep them covered, you should not have a problem with dry ribs. The amount of juice that I had to drain was more than plenty to make a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
My family is CRAZY about these ribs. I've made it three times now and suggest you bake an hour longer at 250, remove the lemon slices and then bake for the final hour w/bbq sauce. Perfection! They were then fall-off-the bone tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I did these in the crock pot adding a 1/2 can of diet coke with lemon. I KNOW, it sounds odd, but EVERY time I add a coke to meat, no matter what the cut, it turns out tender. And for as cheap as these ribs were (got em' on sale) they turned out sooooooo good. I put them on high in the crock pot (I have a 5 quart) at 2 p.m. and they were falling off of the bone by 6 p.m. (my crock pot cooks faster for an unknown reason). Thanks Glenda, I will pick up this cut a little more often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I thought this recipe was excellent. I seasoned my ribs with garlic powder and salt & pepper first. I also let them cook an extra half hour. They were SO tender, my husband was surprised. He doesn't usually like country ribs because they end up so tough....now I know the secret. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
YUK!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Oven-Baked BBQ Ribs

No grill? No worries. These baked ribs are juicy and tasty.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States