BBQ Country Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I make these every year you New Years dinner. My family loves them. In case you're not aware, there are two cuts of country ribs. Those that are cut from the shoulder and the ones cut from the loin. I use "country ribs" from the shoulder since it's fattier. Hence not dry. Loin country ribs are better for slow cooker. I hope this helps some of you. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Ribs were GREAT-------cant wait till the next lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Very good. I made a LOT of ribs - about 8 pounds on 2 trays. I had to increase the temperature to cook them just to be sure and they came out great. The juices spilled over in my oven - not fun- and they weren't done cooking so I had to drain them early. Next time, I'll keep a closer eye on them and drain them halfway through. My ribs were a little fatty and I wish I had take the time to trim them prior to cooking. That would have helped with juice and presentation. Still, it was very good. I followed recipe exactly except the cooking temperature. The lemons seemed strange to me but the worked and I didn't notice a strong lemon flavor to the meat either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The recipe as it's written does NOT work. You *need* to cover the ribs, otherwise they will be extremely dry, and you need to cook them at a higher temp for the first hour or two (300ish) otherwise they will be raw in the middle, not a pleasant combo. I'm a fan of brisket (which is a good 5-6 hour commitment), so I am familiar with slow cooking in my oven. I was wary about not being told to cover the ribs, and after the first hour I checked. The ribs were not cooked...at all...even the slightest bit, but there was a thin dry crust that was forming. I immediately added some water to the bottom of my pan, covered tightly with foil, and cooked at 300 for an additional 2 hours (total of 3 for the first step). After that, the ribs were resurrected and I was able to sauce them up (Stubbs Hickory Bourbon)and finish cooking, eating and enjoying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe that I've made many times. In fact I have it in the oven right now. As others suggested, my only changes were to add water and cover in foil for the first one and a half to two hours. I also adjusted cooking times and temperatures for cooking at 8000 feet altitude. I don't know why so many people are suggesting so many other changes… I think this recipe comes out perfect the way she wrote it, with a few exceptions I noted above. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Perfect and versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Very tender and juicy; I loved the flavor. I didn't have any lemons on hand, I used lemon juice instead; still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Made this for the family (including picky eaters) and they loved it! I followed the recipe and before topping the ribs with lemon I sprinkled them with kosher salt, minced onion, and minced garlic. Turned out fabulous and this one will be added to our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I made this recipe "as is", with the exception of powdered garlic as I am allergic to fresh unless it is cooked 5-6 hours. They were great. The second time around, I made a few changes. I used lemon juice instead of sliced lemons. I have starting using lemon juice on chicken and pork because it seems to sear it and hold in the juices - even on the grill I no loger have dry meat. I also used Paul Prudhomes BBQ rub and then covered with foil. After taking off the foil and pouring off the juices, I use my family's recipe for BBQ sauce. 1/2 cup plain bbq sauce (I use kraft), 1/4 cup honey and 1/4 cup Kikoman's teriyaki glaze (make sure you get the glaze not the marinade, big difference in consistency). Super easy and makes it taste more homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I've made this recipe several times! I do some easy modifications such as a bit of lemon juice (like in the bottle kind, not fresh b/c I hardly ever think to buy lemons lol) in the bottom of the pan. The lemon juice and bbq sauce (MUST USE ORIGINAL SWEET BABY REYS ON THESE!) make a great combo taste! I slow cook them like the recipe says when I can, but you can also cook them faster if you just turn the heat up. I also salt, pepper, and greek season and rub into the ribs before I put the garlic on. I use a good amount of garlic and rub it in also. Then I fold up the aluminium foil (before I lay the ribs in I make a T of aluminium foil for easy cleaning and more flavor locking too), and pop in the oven! they always smell so good cooking, even without the bbq. add in the bbq and uncover and cook for about 30 minutes more and BAM! awesome dinner that even my 5 year old and 2 year old LOVE! never any left overs here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilliansmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olney, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Oven-Baked BBQ Ribs

No grill? No worries. These baked ribs are juicy and tasty.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States