BBQ Chuck Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
My boyfriend raved all night about the roast. It was the juiciest roast I have ever had. I don't think we will ever cook a roast in the oven or crock pot again!!! The combination of flavors was awesome! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I just made a chuck roast that thought it was prime rib! After our awesome sucess at grilling pizza last night, we decided to try a roast tonight. WOW! We don't even have a spit- I just put a pan under it to catch the juices and flipped it once. It was a three pound roast and took 1 1/2 hours to get it just rare in some spots. We even baked the potatoes next to it. The kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VCAPRINI
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was one of the best roast I have ever made. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VCAPRINI

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I used tri-tip and a slow cooker. Kept a bit of the marinade for drizzling after cooking. So tender and flavorful without being overpowering that my 3yr old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Yum! Very good flavors. My rotissarie was not working, so I bbq'd it on the top grill for alittle over an hour and then brought it down for the remainder. There was sooo much sauce, and I just kept basting it (actually drizziling it over the top) every twenty minutes or so. Very tasty!! Can't wait to eat the leftovers today. We will defineltey be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This made my mother-in-law drool. The meat was melt in your mouth tender with an incredible flavor. We cooked to approximately 142 degrees and it was a medium cook roast, which we prefer. This was our first time using our rotisserie (a gift from said mother-in-law) and this roast really made us look like experts! Thank you, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was fabulous!! Easy and imparts a very delicious flavor to the meat. Can't afford prime rib?? Just buy a chuck roast and follow this recipe and your guests will roll their eyes! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I never cook beef because I never knew what to do with it and always ended up with tough chewy meat. I decided to try this recipe but I made two minor changes. I did not use the beer as I never buy beer so had none on hand. I used some orange juice instead to thin the marinade mixture and since the teriyaki sauce had ginger in it, and I also had no fresh ginger on hand, I did not add the fresh ginger. So those were the only ingredient changes. Instead of grilling it, I browned it on all sides in a skillet and then baked it in the oven at 350 for about 3 hrs. It was a 3lb roast (I like my meat very well done which was my reason for not using the grill) This was moist and delicious. The next time I make this, which will be soon, I will brown it on the grill and finish it in the oven as it generated a lot of smoke on the stove. Happy to report that this was a big hit not only for dinner but the left overs made excellent shredded beef sandwiches the next day. ( I shredded the beef and warmed it with more BBQ sauce for another delicious meal). Thanks for the recipe Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
The flavor was excellent. Used for steak. I decided to make into a salad, because we needed to eat it for lunch. Dressing: olive oil, red wine vinegar, garlic, steak sauce. Added grilled strips of zucchini and mushrooms. Very pretty & excellent. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was great! We didn't have any beer on hand, though, so I substituted a mixture of 1/3 c A-1 steak sauce, 1/3 c ketchup, and 1/3 c balsamic vinegar for the beer. It was still really good, but I can't wait to try this again with the beer the recipe calls for instead. We also don't have a rotisserie, so had to cook it on the regular grill surface. Even with very frequent basting and movement of the coals so that they provided a more indirect heat, our roast didn't take nearly the two hours the recipe calls for. I'm not sure whether this is a factor of the barbecue or the method, but I can say that it's worth being judidcious and watching this roast carefully to make sure it doesn't get overdone. Terrific submission on the whole, though -- thank you so much for sharing it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States