BBQ Chuck Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
My boyfriend raved all night about the roast. It was the juiciest roast I have ever had. I don't think we will ever cook a roast in the oven or crock pot again!!! The combination of flavors was awesome! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glens Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I just made a chuck roast that thought it was prime rib! After our awesome sucess at grilling pizza last night, we decided to try a roast tonight. WOW! We don't even have a spit- I just put a pan under it to catch the juices and flipped it once. It was a three pound roast and took 1 1/2 hours to get it just rare in some spots. We even baked the potatoes next to it. The kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I cut the marinade recipe down to 1/3 since I was using it on smaller pieces of meat. I used Miller Lite beer and I could really taste the beer. Dh said he could not, but he likes beer and I don't. The ginger flavor overpowered the teriyaki and the barbeque sauce. Anyway, we both thought it was pretty good. Maybe it would be better on a roast as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This recipe was tasty and the scent was mouth watering, I made a few changes. The roast I bought was very mishapen, so instead of using a rotissarie, I used a slow cooker. I unfortunately didn't have teriyaki sauce, but the next best thing I mixed up some soy sauce and sugar and a bit of wine. I mixed all the ingrediants together and put it in the slow cooker with the roast. It turned out splendidly and made the whole house smell like heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shorewood, Illinois, USA
Photo by VCAPRINI
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was one of the best roast I have ever made. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VCAPRINI

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Yum! Very good flavors. My rotissarie was not working, so I bbq'd it on the top grill for alittle over an hour and then brought it down for the remainder. There was sooo much sauce, and I just kept basting it (actually drizziling it over the top) every twenty minutes or so. Very tasty!! Can't wait to eat the leftovers today. We will defineltey be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I used tri-tip and a slow cooker. Kept a bit of the marinade for drizzling after cooking. So tender and flavorful without being overpowering that my 3yr old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was great! We didn't have any beer on hand, though, so I substituted a mixture of 1/3 c A-1 steak sauce, 1/3 c ketchup, and 1/3 c balsamic vinegar for the beer. It was still really good, but I can't wait to try this again with the beer the recipe calls for instead. We also don't have a rotisserie, so had to cook it on the regular grill surface. Even with very frequent basting and movement of the coals so that they provided a more indirect heat, our roast didn't take nearly the two hours the recipe calls for. I'm not sure whether this is a factor of the barbecue or the method, but I can say that it's worth being judidcious and watching this roast carefully to make sure it doesn't get overdone. Terrific submission on the whole, though -- thank you so much for sharing it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I changed the recipe to: 1/2 cup of bbq sauce, teriyaki and shiraz wine with 1 tsp minced garlic and Emeril's Essence. Watch cooking times as my roast was done in 1 1/2 hours. Very tasty would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I made this exactly like the recipe said except for the ginger (didn't add it). This had to be one of the worst recipes we've ever tried. My family didn't like it at all!!! The flavor wasn't any good and it turned out tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States