BBQ Chuck Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
this was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made this with a 2 and a half pound roast, but made the full marinade recipe. It was enough to cover the whole roast in a 4 qt casserole and eliminate the need for constant turning. It grilled over an indirect flame for about 70 minutes to 140F and was done to almost medium well...just a little(!!) pink remaining. When bringing the marinate to a boil do it slowly, and you'll need to add something to help it thicken, otherwise you're in for a long wait. I used half a tablespoon of flour, which worked out well...in the long run. Overall I was not that impressed the first night, but my wife said it was delicious. I thought the flavor thin and the roast too much like a BBQ of pork. Sadly, I packed it all up and put in in the frig after dinner. At that point, I was thinking a rating of two stars. Here's where this gets really good. 48 hours go by and I decide to make a sandwich. I heated some sauce and made a BBQ sandwich...IT WAS FANTASTIC!!!! The two days of the flavors melding made all the difference. Now I can't get enough. Now I'm wondering if I had made the marinate two days in advance and let it sit in the frig, how much better would the roast have been on that first night. Heck, I'm going to use this sauce at the beach on ribs this summer...and chicken...and whatever else sits still long enough to grill. IF YOU DO NOTHING ELSE...MAKE THIS SAUCE AND LET IT AGE A COUPLE OF DAYS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Delicious. We don't have a spit anymore. I fired up the big green egg and cooked at about 325 until done. Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
The sauce had great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I thought the flavor of the beer was overpowering, and we cook with beer all the time (I know it all depends on what type of beer as well, but what we used just didn't work!). Next time we'll leave the beer out and just add a little vinegar. I also added a few TB of brown sugar while it was simmering on the stove. I was hoping the basting sauce would thicken up during the cooking phase but it stayed quite thin and watery. Definitely not my favorite way to prepare this cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALBIONLUVBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I found this recipe a bit salty for my taste. I would not add any additional salt next time. Over all a crowd pleaser, however, next time I will tweak it a bit. Great idea to do on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The reviews on this recipe made me run right out and buy a rotisserie for my BBQ. And Boy, am I glad I did!!! This was so moist and tasty my husband didn't say a word through dinner, except to say "I'm going back for seconds!" Thanks for a great recipe I'll be using again, and again....and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This recipe did wonderful things with my lowly chuck roast. I don't have a spit so I did the indirect heat thing on the barbie. I used the boiled marinade to very generously baste about every 10 min., which I really think is the key to this and made sure to move this around for even cooking. It took almost 2 hours to reach 145 degrees. It was a thing of beauty coming off the grill. Absolutely delicious.....try this one - I think you will be glad you did. Ahmad you rock cuz your pic made me want to make this and thanks to Sue for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Photo by dixiechickbs
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe. I was craving roast but it's Summer so I didn't want to fix something heavy. This was the purfect answer! I did overcook it a bit. Cooked it to 160 degrees and meant to only take it to 145 as I like my beef rare and DH likes his medium - with resting time I think 145 would have been perfect. My fault but still declicious. Due to size of roast there were still some pink spots. Next time I'll watch the temp. a bit closer. Great Summer roast recipe! Thank you Ahmad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiechickbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I love this recipe. Every time I make it people rave about it. I cook it on the grill for about an hour and then finish cooking it in the oven. It always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Kansas City BBQ Ribs

Pork ribs seasoned with a spice rub and bbq sauce cooked right on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States