BBQ Chuck Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Nov. 2013, Made this tonight and it was excellent. Have a very small propane grill so I seared it on the grill for about 15mins. each side then put it in a slow baker for an hour an half. Roast was only 2 lbs. I basted it with the marinate every 20mins. My husband loved it. It was very tender. We are going to serve the leftovers tomorrow over baked potatoes. Already looking forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was good. There wasn't a problem getting anyone to eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnulph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I give out 5-star ratings infrequently because I feel a recipe needs to really WOW me to get that kind of rating. This recipe is deserving of all stars! Amazing flavor! Followed the marinade ingredients exactly using Land Shark beer and Open Pit bbq sauce. We had a 3.5 lb. roast, however our roast was about 1/2 frozen, so it was marinated on the counter while it continued thawing. Husband put on Weber grill with no spit (using all-natural coals, not the chemical kind), used indirect heat (push coals to sides and place meat in the middle.) He flipped and basted every 10 minutes having to add a couple coals half way through to keep heat going. About 75 minutes to medium doneness. The smells while cooking were mouth-watering. Meat was tender and full of flavor. Another reviewer made a comment that it was similar to prime rib. Hubby was skeptical before cooking, but not anymore. Prime rib flavor is accurate! Totally recommend this recipe AS IS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I bought a chuck roast on sale not knowing how to cook it. I marinated it for 5 hours, then cooked it in my cast iron dutch oven for an hour, then topped with marinade and cooked an additional hour. I really had no idea what I was doing, but my husband said it was by far the best thing I've ever made! We will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I just made this the other night and followed the recipes. It turned out amazing! Great flavor tender and loved it! My picky niece and nephew even ate it and asked for more. I did bake it in the over at 325 for 2.5 hours with a 3.5 pound chuck roast. Would like to try it on the grill next though. I think between 2-2.5 hours is perfect time for this. I will definantly be making this again. There were no left overs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
With most recipes, I'm tempted to make a change or two right off the bat - not so with this one. I followed it the best I could. I don't have a rotisserie, so I used a roasting rack in a pan and flipped the roast over after an hour. The Teriyaki sauce I had in the cupboard was a "Ginger Teriyaki" sauce that was a bit strong on the ginger already, so I didn't add the fresh ginger. Next time I make it, it will be with a more traditional Teriyaki sauce and add the fresh ginger root, as called for in the recipe here. Obviously, there is a WIDE range of barbecue sauces from which to choose. I used Open Pit Thick 'n' Tangy Brown Sugar & Spice because that's what I had on hand; it gave the dish a nice zip. The genius of this recipe is the simplicity of preparation and the basic, easy-to-find ingredients - resulting in a nicely balanced flavor. I would strongly recommend following the recipe exactly at it is before changing anything. If you're like me, you will probably end up experimenting with it, but this is one of those rare recipes that works wonderfully just the way it is. My hat's off to you, Sue. Outstanding job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Great Flavor. I cooked on the grill with indirect heat, basting every 15 minutes with the cooked down sauce. It took an hour to reach 160 degrees, turned off the grill and left it for 15 minutes. It got a little dry. Next time I would cook less and maybe to 140, then take it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was just okay. My husband says it was too vinegary - could've been from the bbq sauce I used. I cooked it in the crock pot, so it was very tender. The flavor was good; but nothing spectacular. Maybe next time, I'll smoke it as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this recipe exactly except I cooked it in the oven at 325 degrees for 2.25 hours. (I also dredged it in flour and browned the sides first) I was nervous at first because the marinade tasted icky when I sampled it. However, this was THE BEST roast I have ever had. It was so unbelievably tender and flavorful. It was almost liked pulled pork!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teakettica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States