BBQ Chuck Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Not sure what I did wrong, but followed the recipe exactly except didn't have a spit. So I followed a few other reviews and seared it on the grill then baked it in the oven at 350 for 2 hours. It came out extremely dry and tough, and the sauce was very salty. I was very disappointed, may try it again if I buy a rotisserie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This was so delicious! Thank you for the recipe. I've made chuck roast on the grill before and it turned out very dry and chewy. So the only thing I could make with it would be Italian beef sandwiches in the slow cooker. My husband and Kids raved about it and said they definitely want this again and soon. I wish I had taken a pic of the final product because it looked as good as it tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Instead of making an extra trip to the store, I used items I already had. I used BBQ sauce, beer, onion, garlic, oregano, and basil. I didn't have soy sauce or vinegar but I did add about 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I mixed everything together, poured it over the roast, and let it sit for 24 hours. After that, I baked mine in a slow cooker with carrots, onion slices, and potatoes. I must say it was phenomenal! I would never think to make a chuck roast with BBQ but this was a great recipe starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I'm giving this a 4 instead of 3 because what I did may have messed it up. Took the advise of another reviewer and let it marinade for 48 hours before cooking but other than that followed the directions. It just tasted kinda weird to all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly, except that I don't have a rotisserie for my grill. There are no directions for temperature, but I prepared the grill for indirect heat and turned the roast every 15 minutes. Temperature ended up between 300 & 350F, varying because of me opening and closing the grill to turn it. The meat was fairly tough, definitely not tender or falling apart. The flavor of the marinade was fair to good. Wish I got the great outcome so many have reported, but not sure what to do differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I like this recipe and I use it to dress up my bbq sauce I get from the store. I did change it up a bit. I don't add the beer since I haven't had any. I do plan on trying it with beer when I can. If I have oj I add it instead of the beer. I add a bit of brown sugar and if I don't have oj on hand I try something new thats sweet to make it more lose. I figure to use something that goes well with the meat your cooking. I don't have black pepper so I use the medley of peppers which include red peppers. I don't notice any heat. It might help the flavor idk. With my beef when I seared it in the pan I seared both sides then put liquid smoke and seared it again. 1 minute on each side so 4 minutes total. I can't give it five stars since I find it alone to be a bit less to my liking then when I add that extra stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trancid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was absolutely divine! We didn't have a chuck roast, but we did get some clearance thin sliced chuck steaks for $3.31 as we are on a very tight budget these days and rarely eat meat. I have cooked the same kind of little steaks in a pan and they were as tough as shoe leather, but tasty with my seasonings. I was determined to make them more tender this time. I baked them in a glassware covered with foil for 2 1/2 hours with all the ingredients except the onion since my husband doesn't eat onion, but I did go heavy on the onion powder. It smelled so wonderful cooking! When I got it out of the oven, my husband decided he wanted his in a sandwich. I went to grab one with a fork, and it was falling apart tender! They could not have been more tender and the flavor was out of this world! We wished we did have a whole roast of it, or more little chuck steaks because there is still about an inch of the liquid in the pan! Thank you for this recipe that made cheap chuck steaks more tender than tenderloin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Delicious marinade! I made the roast in the crockpot. Cooked for about 6 hours until it reached temperature. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was really good! I followed the actual recipe but used my George Jr. Rotisserie and cooked it for about 75 minutes. It was SOOO GOOOD! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Nov. 2013, Made this tonight and it was excellent. Have a very small propane grill so I seared it on the grill for about 15mins. each side then put it in a slow baker for an hour an half. Roast was only 2 lbs. I basted it with the marinate every 20mins. My husband loved it. It was very tender. We are going to serve the leftovers tomorrow over baked potatoes. Already looking forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States