BBQ Chili Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Very easy, took about 40 minutes. Definately use cumin when cooking the turkey, maybe even some of the chili powder. I added some red pepper flakes, we like it hot, and could have used more. Also consider using a jalepano. If you double the turkey, be sure to add more onion, tomato sauce (or one 6oz can tomato paste with a full can of water,) bbq sauce, corn and green bell pepper. I used whole wheat pasta and couldn't even tell. It was excellent! My fiance had 3 servings, and there was leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I made the recipe exactly as the instructions called for and it was wonderful. We have lots left over so it can easily be cut down. I was surprised at how well the BBQ sauce added flavor with the chili powder. And for WW people, it's only 6 points a serving and it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I absolutely loved this recipe! I did make a few changes like added kidney beans and a can of tomatoe paste and a can of water. And i added some red pepper for some fire. And i did not include the corn or the green pepper. Overall it was a very thick, hearty, and very tastey meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
WHAT AN AWESOME RECIPE! I thought it was easy to prepare and I'd like to share my tips. I cooked the pasta the night before and defrosted a 10 oz package of corn to save time. In the morning I browned the turkey with onion, minced garlic and garlic powder to give it more flavor. I added cumin for smokiness and crushed red pepper flakes for a little kick. I saved about a cup of the starchy pasta water to bind the sauce together instead of using bland tomato sauce. I used a can of diced tomatoes with oregano, garlic and basil for more flavor. I had a bag of frozen peppers and onions in the fridge so I put them in the processor to chop them and added a half cup of them to the hot tub. It turned out really tasty and really fast, in less than 20 minutes, I was done. So figure friendly and lower in fat, sodium and cholesterol than old school hamburger helper. Thanks Dimple2000 for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curvalicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
We didn't care too much for this. The BBQ flavor overwhelms everything else, so I didn't really matter that I added cumin, crushed red pepper, black pepper, and garlic. Served with shredded cheese on top. My boyfriend ate 2 servings, but I think he was just really hungry because he said this was a 2 star recipe. I ate mine with sour cream, which helped cut the BBQ flavor down a bit. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Very easy and my six year old loved it - Very child friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Due to my husband being a picky eater I omitted the onion and used onion power, the green pepper and used a couple pinches of regular black pepper, and tomato sauce and used tomato paste. Still turned out very tasty. You can change out the flavors of barbecue sauce to suit your particular taste. Very versatile and easy recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was a very tasty dish! I really enjoyed the BBQ taste! It's a great twist to traditional tomato sauce dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I really had to spice this up for my family's taste. I added garlic, cumin, and chipolte hot sauce. I also used ground beef. I put shredded cheese and sour cream on the table so they could top it like another person suggested. In the end, this was tasty, and very simple to throw together. My higher rating was based more on how quick you can put dinner on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This recipe was very good. I used ground beef instead of turkey. Tabasco sauce helped give it even more of a kick. You can put sour cream and cheddar cheese on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Peck

Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States