BBQ Chili Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I'm not going to lie - when I first typed in the ingredients I had in my cupboard and this came up, I actually thought it sounded pretty disgusting. But I gave it a whirl since it had bbq sauce in it, and I knew the hubs would probably like that. I was amazed at how delicious it was. I'm not one for too spicy, and I thought the chili powder was just perfect. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
My family liked this dish. It reminded me of sloppy joes, which I love, but a nice change over pasta. I omitted the corn for diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Good recipe. I used honey BBQ, and doubled the meat and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
A good dish for a quick weeknight meal, and it could probably be dressed up for company too. It was fast to prepare, very easy and definitely tasty. Based on some of the reviews, I added cumin to the turkey. I also added a can of Rotel diced tomato with jalapeno. I used slightly less than 1Tbsp of chili powder since I don't like too much heat, but it still had good flavor and the heat accumulated as you ate more. It was a good balance for two people who can handle different spice levels. I think it could be kicked up with some red pepper flakes if some diners wanted more. Again, not a very fancy dish, but we liked it and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
WHAT AN AWESOME RECIPE! I thought it was easy to prepare and I'd like to share my tips. I cooked the pasta the night before and defrosted a 10 oz package of corn to save time. In the morning I browned the turkey with onion, minced garlic and garlic powder to give it more flavor. I added cumin for smokiness and crushed red pepper flakes for a little kick. I saved about a cup of the starchy pasta water to bind the sauce together instead of using bland tomato sauce. I used a can of diced tomatoes with oregano, garlic and basil for more flavor. I had a bag of frozen peppers and onions in the fridge so I put them in the processor to chop them and added a half cup of them to the hot tub. It turned out really tasty and really fast, in less than 20 minutes, I was done. So figure friendly and lower in fat, sodium and cholesterol than old school hamburger helper. Thanks Dimple2000 for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curvalicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This is great stuff! I probably could have gobbled it all down myself the first night (or at least I wanted to), but I made it last for 2 nights. Still, 6 servings made for 2 big dinners. I made it exactly as written, except that my canned corn was a little bigger at 15.25 oz. (Also, I don't know where you and others find 8-oz. packages of pasta, but I've never seen one. So I just weighed out half of a 1-lb. package.) This is a noticeable twist on the "hamburger helper"-type recipe (as I call them) - the use of bbq sauce here adds a lot of flavor. I might quibble that the bbq sauce is a little too strong (depends on which kind you use, of course), and/or a little too much in amount; and that the ground turkey is a little skimpy in amount and flavor compared to ground beef. But overall, I enjoyed this a lot and just might make it again sometime. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was great! I made more for leftovers by using 1lb pasta (whole wheat) and 1lb ground turkey. I left all else the same. As a result of making extra pasta it could have used more sauce yet it wasn't too dry. I want to use a can of diced tomatoes next time with the juice instead of the tomato sauce. I added 1tsp cumin but all else according to the recipe. I loved that it was quick and made plenty - my husband likes to take some leftovers with his lunch for variety, and he really enjoyed this very much, and the boys did too. We will definitely be making this regularly! **UPDATE** I made this last night and didn't realized I was out of regular canned corn, and I had no frozen corn either so I used a can of creamed corn, my DH REALLY loved it all the more making it that way - that's the only thing I did different too, well still adding my can of diced tomatoes as I had mentioned in my first review but that's how we have it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Very yummy thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Yummy! I used penne pasta because that's what I had and I added 1/2 tsp of cumin. Used a nice, tangy bbq sauce and it was really delicious. We topped with monterey jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Have been making this for years ... thought I'd add it to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States