BBQ Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I put 3lbs of boneless skinless chicken breast in a crock pot, then put all the sauce ingredients on top of that. I cooked it on low for 8 hrs then shredded the chicken pieces. It was a huge hit with the whole family. I served it with homemade coleslaw, in which I substituted half of the vinegar in the sauce for tobasco, to give the sandwiches some zing. Next time, the only thing I will change, I will use tomato sauce instead of ketchup, for the same results with a lower price tag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
One thing I love about this site is the chance to read the reviews for a recipe. However, I usually don't understand why people change a recipe before they even try it and then review the changes not the original recipe. I am afraid I am guilty though of doing that this time myself. The recipe called for 5 T of minced garlic. Well my jar of minced garlic said that would be equal to 10-15 cloves of garlic so I said no way! I put in only 2 T and it was just right, but I am not a huge garlic fan. I also bought 3 lbs of boneless chicken breasts and boiled them for almost 3 hours...very tender! I also put in only 1/2 cup dejon mustard and may only put in 1/3 next time. And there will be a next time because these sandwiches were FANTASTIC. I would not recommend using bottled BBQ sauce though because this recipe has a very unique tasts. Also the slaw is absolutely mandatory so don't leave that off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
i thru boneless chicken breasts and the rest of the stuff in the crockpot on low and let it go for about 4 hours(of course your crockpot may be slower or faster, but it is hard to mess up a crockpot meal:) )..you will know when the chicken is done...thought this recipe was pretty good. it is kinda alot ingredients to buy but if you happen to have them on hand like i did try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This is a must make! We took chicken on the bone and placed it in the slow cooker for 4 hours on high with a can of chicken broth and 2 cups of water. When it was done the chicken fell right off the bone, making it easy to shred for the sandwich! Then we doubled the sauce and it made for awesome chicken bbq sandwiches esp with the coleslaw on top! Thanks sooo much for the recipe! We will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
I've never done BBQ chicken and was surprised at how good it was. I used 6 chicken breasts instead of whole chickens and cut the mustard to 1/2 cup, otherwise followed recipe exactly and it was delicious. Made about 10 good-sized sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. Because I used chicken breasts (two cut in half), I was able to use my small crockpot to make this. This turned out well but it seemed to be missing something. Half a recipe--no leftovers. Whatever was left in the crockpot, my husband ate over the crockpot with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is the kind of recipe that works really well with leftover chicken which is what I had. I also added pepper jack cheese to the sandwich and broiled for a few minutes. Hearty, quick and good Sarina. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This was very good. However, I did make a few changes. I used split chicken breasts and added 2 chicken-flavored boullion cubes to the water when boiling them. Also, I doubled all sauce ingredients (except the mustard) and added 2 Tbsp minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This recipe is really yummy!! It gave new life to some leftover chicken breasts. Most importantly it was easy to make the sauce and re-heat the chicken. My picky 9 and 11 year old boys loved it! They normally complain when we have leftovers but I'm getting better at disguising them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
My family really liked this in pita pockets. The coleslaw is a must. It really made it taste great. We loved it. I made the recipie for 10 and had enough to freeze for another quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States