BBQ Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I made this for a potluck dinner and served with homemade cole slaw and wheat kaiser rolls. It turned out great! I did change it up a bit though (everyone has their own bbq sauce preferences). I cooked the sauce on the stovetop and doctored it up as I was cooking it by tasting it. I used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, 1 cup ketchup, 1/2 cup mustard, and only 2Tbsp of dried minced garlic. All the rest was the same, but added 1 Tbsp of Tabasco and 2 Tbsp of cider vinegar. I used Gulden's brown mustard. I used 3.5 pounds of boneless chicken breasts, threw them into the crockpot. Simmered the sauce on the stove for 10 minutes, and then threw it over the top of the chicken. Cooked on high for about 4 hours. Pulled the chicken out, shredded it with two forks. Added some of the sauce from the pot, but then served the rest of the sauce on the side so people could make it as gloppy as they wanted. I would definitely make this again! It would be great for a casual backyard bbq/party. I would also like to try using half breast meat and half boneless skinless thighs. I would have done that this time, but my store only had "natural" boneless/skinless thighs that were pretty expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINASQUIRREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Yummy! Delicious! Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
this was very good! but i changed a few things....i used boneless skinless chicken breast and boiled them in a pan on the stove top, then i put them in a slow cooker and added all the ingredients, plus i added some diced onions and green peppers, and i let it slow cook for 4 hours. it was soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Didnt have liquid smoke and had to use brown mustard, came out GREAT! Will use this sauce recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
OMW! A big hit recently while family did some yardwork. I cooked 2 chickens on the grill, sauce on the side burner. Shredded the chicken then added the sauce. Used honey wheat sandwich recipe submitted by P. Kaiser. Definitely a keeper :D:D:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
tried this on a rainy sunday, would rather have eaten canned chicken with bbq sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PTMUGUCA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
OMG this has to be the best BBQ chicken sandwich ever.I did change it a bit but you will not be dissapointed at all.what i did was boiled 6 boneless skinless chicken breast for 25 minutes i prepared everything last night so that we could have them today. i boiled the chicken shredded it and put it aside while i was preparing the sauce. i used 1 15 oz can tomato sauce 1/2 cup of ketchup,1/2 cup mustard, i cut back on the sugar and used 4 tabls instead of 5 i used4 tbls fresh minced Italian garlic,4 tablesppons of honey as with the sugar i didnt want it to be over powering with sweetness, i didnt have the steak sauce so that was omitted. i used three tbls lemon juice instead of 4, 2 tbls liquid smoke , omitted the salt and only used 1 tsp pepper, and i used a dash of onion powder & two dashes of tobasso sweet & spicy sauce and a pinch of asian chili paste. i simmered it for 20 minutes let it cool and put in the the frig for today then i heated up just enough for our sandwiches covering the chicken to our liking simmered it for 20 minutes put it on our buns i used whole wheat . i cheated a little and used deli coldslaw added a little on top of our sandwiches enough for everones liking they turned out awesome, this is a keeper for sure . next time i will add a little more chili paste or tobassco to heat it up a little more .you wont be dissapointed in this recipe thats for sure. i would change the rating and make this a 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Tastes yummy. Added four splashes of Frank's Red Hot to it for more flavour. And used on normal slices of chicken breast (not boiled). I just frying the thinly sliced chicken over the sauce for 15 minutes and they were cooked and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
a little too tangy for us, but it was still pretty good and a great idea I'm keeping this but will tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I made this last night for dinner. It was great, (I scaled the servings down to 4 instead of 8) I was a little skeptical because of the ketchup and other readers posts about the taste. But all you need to do is be sure to let it simmer down so all the flavors can meld (at least 10-15 min. before adding chicken and then another 10 or so after). We like a little heat to our sauce so I added a 1/2 tsp. onion powder and a tablespoon of chili powder, and a tiny cap full of white distilled vinegar. Also used 5 chicken legs boiled for about 30 min and then chopped. My husband was worried it would be to sweet but once I served it on the toasted bun he said it was perfect. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States