BBQ Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I used 4 & ¾ lbs boneless-skinless thighs (they were on sale). Mixed 1 packet of ‘Herb-Ox Sodium-Free Chicken Bullion’ dissolved in 1c of water, dumped it in the Crock Pot, and then dumped in the thighs. I set the Crock Pot for Hi, for 4 hours. Poured off most of the broth it created (LOTS!) I made some changes to the sauce, according to posted suggestions. I used ½ ketchup & ½ crushed tomatoes (had some leftover), Worcestershire instead of steak sauce & Dijon mustard (it was all I had on hand). Don’t be too concerned that the sauce tastes strong. I was, so I added it to the chicken a bit at a time, wound up using it all and it came out great! Lots of flavor, good moisture and lots of compliments from guests! Don't forget to serve it with cole slaw! I suggest bagged, Dole cole slaw with whatever dressing you like, instead of the soggy stuff you buy in a tub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great!, I combined all of the ingredients in a crock pot plus a can of cola. and topped with some sauerkraut and Swiss cheese on a toasted bun :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
My family loves loves loves this recipe. The 1st time I made it I didnt measure anything they kept asking me to make it. The 2nd time I made it I followed the recipe to the tee they still loved it! Do Not skip the slaw! It doesnt what kind but you need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used an 8 pound whole chicken and 2 extra boneless breasts in my slow cooker on low for 8 hours. This was delicious. Everyone was back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisafromTexas
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Love these. Except I kinda cheated... I used bulleye BBQ sauce LOL I guess kinda missing the whole point of the reciepe but it was cheaper than buying all the ingrediants. Anyways thought coleslaw on my sandwich would be gross.... but seriously.... it made the sandwich. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Didn't get to eat it - made it for my daughter to take to the lake - they LOVED it!! Now I'll try it again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Even tastier the next day after all the flavors really soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Good Recipe! As many others did, I simplified the recipe by using boneless chicken breasts then throwing all the ingredients in a crock pot and letter them simmer for about six hours. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States