BBQ Chicken Pizza I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
I used shredded mozzarella instead of Gouda and I reduced the brown sugar to 1/8 c. and omitted the honey and molasses. I only put on enough sauce to thinly cover the crust (there was lots left over). The pizza was fabulous--my husband and I ate the whole thing in one sitting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This was awesome. My family loved it and since I am a super short-cutter, I just used Kraft Hickory dressing, onions, chicken and mozz. cheese. I will definently make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Great recipe, turned out wonderful for me but I can see where using different BBQ sauces and even the pizza dough can make a huge difference. I used a Pillsbury refrigerator dough and prebaked it for 7 minutes then added topping and baked for only about ten more minutes. I also had to substitute the cheese using a mix of Monterey jack and mozzarella. The pizza dough turned out very crisp and seemed to make it less messy to eat but those who don't like crisp crust may not want to try this type of dough or just be sure that it's not spread too thin. My eight year old liked it okay. I loved it. Watch the cilantro it can be overpowering. I would use less than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMYSNOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Yum! Cook this, people! I bought the pillsbury refridgerated pizza dough, precooked it for 8 minutes at 400F. I sauted the chicken with some vegetable oil till cooked. For the sauce, I used 3/4 cup of kraft hickory bbq sauce, 2 tbsp brown sugar, 2 tsp mollasses and 2 tsp honey. I reserved some of the sauce to spread on the pizza crust, and put the rest of the sauce in with the chicken. Topped it with sliced red onions and mozzerella cheese, and cooked till the crust browned (about 15 minutes). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sameera Azad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
How delicious this was. I used Jay's signature crust from this site and we couldn't stop eating it. First as always I marinated my chicken in buttermilk all day(if no buttermilk 1cup milk, 1tbsp white vinegar or lemon juice) this makes for some extra moist chicken.. Then I sprinkled olive oil in a skillet and sauteed my chicken until brown on all sides. Then I added all the ingredients and simmered for a half hour until the chicken was cooked. This eliminated getting two pans dirty. I just kept sampling right out of the skillet before it even made it to the pizza. I used mozzarella cheese as my cheese because that's my taste preference. SOOOO YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Very ironic that in the title it says not too sweet when its waaay too sweet. Really even if you like sweet things change the recipe to tone down the sweetness. Also unlike mozarella, gouda tends to not melt particularly well. Finished product didnt look very appealing because the sauce turned a dark reddy brown almost black and the chesse didnt melt well it just went crispy. Edible but recipe needs a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Pizza was very good except for the cilantro. I couldnt find the cheese so I used an italian mix. Next time I will just use mozz. Also leave about an inch for the crust. I only left a little bit and the sauce spilled over the edge and burnd on the pan. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I made this pizza last night for supper, but I changed a few minor details. First, I grilled the chicken, but did not mix it with the sauce; I just spread the sauce over the pizza and put the sliced chicken on top. I also caramelized about 5 onions and that on the pizza as well. I added some mushrooms and a little bit of goat cheese along with the sliced red onion and baked it until golden and delicious. This recipe is a really good/quick/easy weeknight supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Excellent change from normal pepperoni and cheese pizza! I think the sauce is too sweet as written, so add sugar to taste. Also, note that barbeque sauces are naturally sweet, so if you get a honey flavoured sauce, you definitely don't need much more sugar. Even if you do add too much sugar though, it'll still taste fantastic! I like to add a red pepper to the top as well as season the chicken with sweet Hungarian paprika. It gives the pizza more colour and even more flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
This is good but it is waaayyyy too sweet (and I like sweet). If I make this again I will definitely leave out the molasses, honey, and brown sugar. It was good but it also made me incredibly thirsty, so much so I could hardly eat it. Also, the sauce was incredibly runny, I recommend baking the pizza on a cookie sheet so it doesn't spill all over your oven. Not sure I'll do this again because I think California Pizza Kitchen frozen BBQ pizzas are better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Chicken Pesto Pizza

Presto, it’s pesto! Enjoy a quick-and-easy chicken pesto pizza.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States