BBQ Chicken Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by txwife
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
We loved this! Instead of cutting the dough in half, I cut it into four sections which made perfect leftovers for lunch. (You can also adjust each pockets ingredients this way for those picky eaters) I didn't have bacon, but I will absolutely make this again adding it...and maybe even some cracked red pepper. This is a perfect alternative to the basic bbq chicken pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I have made this twice now, and it has been delicious both times. A great recipe to use with leftover chicken. Simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This recipe is Fan Freakin Tastic!!! I'm not a fan of cilantro so I let that go. As per other peoples suggestions I eyeballed the amount of BBQ sauce and added extra bacon. I went to a local pizzeria and bought pizza dough and let me tell you, it was $2.50 for alot of dough and it was sooooo good, so go to your local pizzeria, i'm sure they sell dough and its worth it, trust me!! I melt some garlic and butter and brushed the tops and added some Italian seasoning and parmesan cheese and when it was almost done I brushed the tops with egg and it came out perfectly!! TRY THIS RECIPE!!. I tried to add a picture, but I keep getting an error, I wish I could show you, I was so proud of myself and my husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskay629

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars is because I had to add to and change the recipe. First, I had no idea how much chicken is 3 cups. I used 4 chicken breasts hoping to double this recipe (which it did). I felt the recipe needed some added flavor. I used 1 cup of bbq sauce and 1/4 cup of ranch dressing. Instead of Cilantro, I added 2 tsp of Italian seasonings. After rolling out dough I did not understand why the recipe wasn't written for the dough to be split into 4, so you could actually have 4 individual servings. So, that is what I did. Worked perfectly! I sprinkled dough with onion and garlic powder before I cut it for some extra flavor. This ended up having a wonderful flavor! You could play with the ingredients and make a large variety of different calzones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This came out great, I added some more cheese than it called for and served it with blue cheese dressing as a dipper, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadelta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Delicious! This recipe was easy to make but a bit labor intensive. It took me twice as long (if not more) to make than the time called for. I used more bacon than called for just because I had it. I also added mushrooms, a couple cloves of garlic, and went ahead and used the whole small onion. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I love a good BBQ Chicken Pizza, you can't go wrong with this recipe for the calzone version. I put two chicken breasts basted with BBQ sauce in the slow cooker with a can of low sodium chicken broth and about a cup of bbq sauce floating in the broth. When it was time to eat I carmalized about half a large red onion, thinly sliced in a Tbs of olive oil and shredded the chicken -- so moist and shreddable out of the cooker, then put it all together. I didn't have mozz on hand, so I used Colby-Jack, which I thought went better anyway. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I used my own crust recipe instead of a pre-made one. I also didn't measure anything and just dumped it all together. They were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Yum! Just finished making and eating this for an early dinner and it was great! Fast, easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was really good and pretty simple. I used whole chicken breasts-cooked and then diced in my veggie dicer-and we also used turkey bacon. We didn't have any "bacon grease" thankfully, since we wanted to keep this on the healthier side. I would absolutely make it again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States