BBQ Bacon-Wrapped Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was very different and very good - once some critical changes in measurements were made, at least to please Hubs and me. After decades of meatloaf making :) you grow to recognize how much wet and how much dry ingredients you'll need. The half cup of bread crumbs was just fine (up to 2/3 cup would have been okay), but two eggs and a half cup of barbecue sauce (or milk, or ketchup, or whatever wet ingredient you choose to use) is an amount better suited for two pounds of meat, not one! Also, Worcestershire sauce has a distinct flavor and shouldn't be overdone - half the amount was just right for our tastes - 1-1/2 tsp. I skipped the optional chili powder because I was so enthusiastic about the flavors of BBQ sauce, oregano and Dijon - not to mention the bacon! - and I felt the chili powder would be an unneccessary distraction rather than a positive contribution. I used a meatloaf mix (beef, veal, pork) and added some chopped celery along with the onion - and of course I seasoned this well with salt and pepper. The bottom line is that this was darned good, an interesting change from the usual meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Good recipe with a few changes. I have a big family so I used 2 1/2 pounds of meat, used ketchup and BBQ sauce in the meatloaf and also about a tablespoon of hot sauce and omitted the chili powder. I added green pepper to the onion/garlic saute. After wrapping with the bacon I made a topping mixture of BBQ sauce, ketchup, honey and Brown sugar which I rubbed over the top before baking. Turned out awesome. I would have given this 5 stars but you needed some tweeks to make it a really great meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This had a good flavor, but it was way too wet to form into a log. I suggest cutting the egg to one and the bbq sauce to 1/4 cup, or add it little by little. I used 1/2 cup bread crumbs as the recipe said, so maybe more bread would help also. I also cooked the back a little longer before I used it. Not sure if I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
You don't need to form log if you use loaf pan. The wetness described will cook away by adding 10-15 minutes and be really moist. Dryness is biggest complaint of meatloaf. I add cheddar cheese down middle. the best meatloaf I ever ate was cooked in electric skillet if you have one. granny with 50 yrs meatloaf experience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Very tasty and moist! I followed the other reviewers and cut down to 1 egg. I also mixed a little ketchup, BBQ sauce and brown sugar together and used it as glaze for the top. My boyfriend couldn't get enough of it! Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The flavor was good, but I would use 1.5-2 lbs of ground beef, leaving all other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
yummy, easy, and quick... family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalaine Roman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Definate Keeper!! My family still talks about this recipe & I made it weeks ago. I did modify the recipe taking into consideration several of the comments regarding the actual meatloaf recipe. I did use the baking suggestion listed on another site as well. (With a foil lined cookie sheet underneath I placed foil on a wire rack with a few holes in it to allow the grease to drain. This made cleanup very easy. ) My family LOVED it!! I didn't even get a chance to take a photo it was gone so fast. With some cream cheese mashed potatoes it was definitely cheat night done right IMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatNaidyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Great recipe, I used 1/4 cup of barbecue and 1 egg so it wouldn't be as wet. It was easy to make and the hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States