Bazlama - Turkish Flat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Epic deliciousness! I felt like a hobbit eating these! I think this would make for a fantastic pizza crust, so I froze half the dough in a tight, saran-wrapped ball for using another day. The only trouble that I encountered was transferring a dough round onto the griddle, as it didn't really retain any round shape. (And was stickier than I anticipated.) But forget the shape b/c the taste was simple and divine, and even better when I slathered it in the "Basic Hummus" recipe from here. When I defrost the remaining dough, I plan on either trying it as pizza crust, or making smaller flat-bread "balls" on the griddle, as opposed to the big floppy (albeit, scrumptious!) dough pile that I had today. Thank you for a great recipe sharwna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe. I used olive oil to cook it and it was fabulous! I would recommend halving the recipeas it yielded a total of 8 flats. (I did try freezing half of it as well and I wouldn't recommend it as the dough doesn't rise well after it's defrosted and it drys out pretty fast.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I couldn't resist adding some minced garlic to the dough (as well as a few spices) and that worked well. Like another reviewer, I ended up with 8 rounds (cooked on a skillet) rather than 4. I was able to cook them without any sort of oil or butter on the pan at all. Mine took closer to three minutes per side (rather than 1). This may be because I did not form thin enough discs though. Either way, they were delicious and I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Delicious! I made it to go w/ some homemade hummus - I also imagine it would be tasty dipped in a curry. The dough was a bit sticky and needed lots of flour to flatten the rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
In Turkey, we make our bazlamas stuffed w/feta and parsley, ground beef w/tomato, or mash potatoes...Just flatten the dough and put a thin layer of crumbled feta and chopped parsley, flip one side to cover the stuffing (like an omelet) and cook both sides...Eat with sour cherry jam and hot tea as our usual Sunday breakfast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inji Dogukan Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I stuffed 2 rounds with black olive tapenade and 2 rounds with with grilled artichoes in olive oil..Oh my were sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Super easy to make and tastes great. We've had them with hummus, butter, or refried beans and meat. Once I substituted mascarpone for the yogurt and it tasted great. I cook mine on a 400 degree grill for about 2-3 minutes per side. Like other reviewers, I get 8 servings per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtnwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Very good just made yesturday yum. Is a little sticky just use a little sprinkle of flour when rolling out. I like slightly thicker than very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I love this bread! It is easy to prepare and cooks on top of the stove. No need to heat up the house using the oven for this stuff! I have made it three weeks in a row now and the first time I followed the recipe exactly. The 2nd time I added shives and dillweed. (delicious!) The 3rd time I substituted 1/2 the white flour with wheat flour and added honey for a honey wheat flavor (also delicious!) I had to cook the wheat bread a tad longer than the plain white. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
i dunno. my one star is, according to the other ratings, owing to my ignorance in the kitchen. i noticed that another poster used 1/2 wheat flour in addition to honey--i did the same. other than that, i added stuff as some others suggested...i added extra ingredients after it set for 3 hours--there were 8 stuffed flats in all, those 8 actually being 16, stuffed and smushed with a partner (in the manner of a sandwich). maybe i should have added my olives and feta AFTER letting it set for an additional 15? my bread sucked. what a flop. granted, i don't have a cast iron skillet so went with a standard non-stick pan. it was all chewy and burned before it cooked. i'm sad to have wasted a lot of feta and olives, but i still think this recipe needs more precise directions for those who don't normally 'do bread' like myself. wish i had the energy to try it again, but my stomach is all outta whack from 'tasting' it so much, and i'm just not up for another go at it. maybe later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States