Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very Good ! Might add green pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great tasting, easy recipe. As others have said, you can easily double the # of meatballs and still have plenty of sauce. Cook the meatballs in the oven first and reduce the sugar by 1/2. Loved the addition of pineapple chunks and juice to replace the water. I also added red pepper flakes for a kick. Makes a great leftover with rice. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
good, but needed probably a little less brown sugar and a little less cranberry sauce. It was a little too sweet for me. It was so rich I did'nt want to go back for seconds, but I think it could be better next time. I also added spicy brown mustard, hich helped and put in two packs of meatballs which was good because otherwise there would have been wayyyy too much sauce. Everyone else enjoyed these, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great recipe. I used 2 pkgs of frozen meatballs (1 lb, 12 oz each) which equals 3-1/2 lbs of meatballs. However, I doubled the chili sauce, cranberry sauce, added another 3/4 cup water and about another 3/4 cup brown sugar, but I did NOT add more sauerkraut. Turned out great. I took this to work and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I made these for my bunco night and everyone loved them! I followed some previous reviewers' advice and made a few changes. First, I used two pounds of meatballs-there was plenty of sauce and I think one pound would have just been swimming in it. I also subbed in a chopped onion for the sauerkraut and I cut the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. Delicious-I'll be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
my bf loved it, and couldn't stop eating them! we will be making again bc its so easy and delish. we ate them on toasted sourdough rolls :) the recipe does make a lot of extra sauce, so next time i will add more meat balls. also i popped the meatball in the oven for about 20 minutes, while i was opening and mixing everything else in the crockpot. the sauce is sweet, very good how it is, but i can see how a little less sugar would be good too... altogether, a winner bc of it being easy, great, and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denay4love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was fantastic; I made it for a party and everyone wanted the recipe, plus incredibly easy to make ahead of time. I didnt' have four hours to slow-cook so heated it up on the stove first then put it in the crockpot for the last 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a huge hit at my new year's eve party. I was really excited because I've never made meat balls before (I grew up vegetarian pretty much, so meat fascinates me). I didn't need to get so excited, however, because people were eating them like they were going out of style. The ingredients seem weird, but they taste really good together. I made mine in a small, 2 quart slow cooker, and I recommend cutting down the recipe by at least half for a slow cooker that size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnyo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I thought it was pretty good, though we preferred it with more meatballs. I would say next time I would use a 32 oz bag of meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Made meatball sandwiches with these. everydody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States