Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Made these for a German themed Christmas party I threw a few years ago. After looking at the ingredients, my husband didn't want anything to do with them. I told him I chose them because the recipe was highly rated. He tried one when they were done and LOVED them. They were a big hit at the party and many of my guests said they wished they had taken more home, although, they wouldn't have been able to anyway since there were none left. I do want to add though, like someone else that reviewed these, I couldn't find chili sauce, so I used plain tomato sauce and chili powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I have made these twice to take to covered dish events. Everyone loved them. I doubled the meatballs and still had plenty of sauce. I followed another readers suggestion and baked the meatballs first. This helped them to be crispier and also removed a lot of the grease. We all really enjoyed this dish. Now I'm wondering how it would be to follow the same recipe using bratwurst slices instead of meatballs. Has anyone tried it that way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sylva, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
It was good just the appearance wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Loved them! Swwt and tangy and easy to throw in the crock pot. Served with wide egg noodles made a great dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Took these to a meeting with 20 people and everyone seams to pick out the meat balls with out the other ingredients. I thought they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
easy, quick & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELKKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I really did not enjoy these. The flavors did not seem to go together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaddysGyrl1028
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Love Love Love this recipe! Used 1/3c dark brown sugar 2/3c light brown sugar! And omitted the h20,covored & baked sause in oven @ 350 for a few hours added fresh homemade baked meatballs baked again for 30ish min to thickened sause just a lil more! Sooooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaddysGyrl1028

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this recipe for the first time and took it to work for a going farewell potluck. Everyone loved it! It was one of the first dishes to run out (I thought doubling it would be enough). Several people have asked me for the recipe! Don't be afraid to try it even if you don't like sauerkraut. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These are so easy and good! My husband does not like sour items, so the brown sugar did a good job of balancing the kraut and the tanginess of the cranberry sauce. I used two pounds of meatballs because there was enough sauce to cover all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States