Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent recipe! Made for our New Year's party and everyone raved. I followed the recipe but doubled the sauce (except for the sauerkraut) and doubled the meatballs. I used Walmart brand italian style meatballs. Cooked on low for 8 hours and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I make this recipe with just a bottle of ketchup and a can of the cranberries. Simmer on low for about 2-3 hours and they are amazing. No need for the brown sugar, water etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Tripled the meatballs and it is perfect! Everyone loves and is always curious about ingredients. Gluten free can make the meatballs and use all ingredients so they were happy too,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes of all time! I made this for an Oktoberfest party at school a few years ago and I haven't quit making it since! Only problem is that it makes the whole house smell like sauerkraut! I usually throw this in the crock pot and let it cook all night. It really allows the flavor to sink in. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
These were a huge hit at my Oktoberfest dinner. I was nervous because of the ingredients and could not imagine how it would turn out delicious but it did! Everyone loved these meatballs and sauce and wanted the recipe. I am recommending it to all and will be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brightbritain
Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Served this last night as an hors d'oeuvre. My guests loved them! All the ladies asked for the recipe. Most of them said they do not like sauerkraut but this recipe was a wonderful way of camouflaging the sauerkraut flavour. I bought frozen meatballs which is such a time saver & they were wonderful. I added a few more meatballs in the crock pot than indicated in the recipe. I also used golden yellow sugar. I think cutting the amount of sugar as suggested by others is definitely a matter of personal taste and although I do not have a sweet tooth I actually enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made this last-night except I could only get regular sauerkraut. I was worried it would be nasty but my husband and motherinlaw loved it. I wasn't crazy about it personally but they want it again and went back for seconds. We served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This recipe is something different! I brought it to a pot luck and it was well liked. I used turkey meat balls and they turned out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Wow, these are a new family favorite, nice balance of sweet & sour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
OK, the only reason I made this was because my daughter is taking Geman in school, and she needed it for Octoberfest. Looking at the ingredients, it didn't excite me. I was expecting to give it 2 stars. I'm giving it 3 because it was better than I expected... THAT SAID, I cut the sugar down by 2/3rds and it was still pretty darn sweet, Also, there really is no reason to make this in a crockpot unless you want to. But REALLY *** do cut down on the sugar ***..... you can always add more if you like.... Oh, and I used 3 pounds of meatballs with the amount of everything else being the same, and tehre was plenty of "fixin's".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garlic Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States