Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This sounded really good, but I did everything exactly by the recipe and it was one of the worst. The kraut did not compliment the tomato based chili and the 'sweet and sour' I was going for did not turn out to be pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This recipe was very good. I have made it several times for my husband's Sunday football get togethers. The only thing I changed was instead of the sauerkraut, I put in the same amount of chopped white onion. The flavor is absolutely amazing and even my 4 year-old daughter can't quit eating them. UPDATE November 2010: I continue to use this recipe for EVERY family get together. We can't have a party without them or else everyone is completely disappointed. Seriously the easiest and best meatball recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I made these for New Year's Day, and everyone loved them! I only put in 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and they were still very sweet. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is THE BEST meatball recipe! I have made a variation of this for years, as well. I bake the meatball in the oven first, then add them to the crock pot (less grease), use jellied cranberry sauce and only 3-4 T chili sauce . This one is a keeper! Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was good...but I was looking for a bit more "bavarian taste"...not so much the sweet meatballs. I think next time I would add a few caraway seeds to this and maybe another can of sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
It's (the recipe) okay. I usually make a stroganoff style meatball which everyone loves. The flavors just didn't seem to mesh to me. I'm taking them to a party tonite. Will edit if others like them better than I did. **Edit. Well others said they were good, but they still liked my other recipe better. I might try it again minus the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was GREAT! These did not last long on the table at all. It smells fabulous too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudArmyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
As written it was OK. I thought the flavor was good, however the sauce tasted a bit "greasy/oily". If I make again, I probably oven bake the meatballs first and then add to the saurkraut mixture in the slow-cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This recipe is excellent! It has the weirdest ingredients I have ever combined, but the taste is fantastic. I took it with me to a Thanksgiving party and several people asked for the recipe. Very easy and very well received. I did double the amount of meatballs, but everything else was exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Absolutely wonderful!!! A breeze to throw together. I used cranberry jelly (as opposed to the whole berries) as it's what I had to hand, and I really liked the texture. The sweetness was just right. The kiddos didn't care for the texture of the sauerkraut, so I plucked out a few meatballs...they liked the flavor and ate several. I served this with the easy corn casserole and garlic mashed potatoes, which was a PERFECT combination. The "gravy" was sweet (but not too sweet) and thick enough to cover the potatoes. I highly recommend this recipe- it would be great for a potluck at the office, a shower, holiday event, etc. This will get rave reviews from everyone! As another poster said, don't be put off by the ingredients- the blend of flavors is amazing! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States