Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I made the recipe as given and I found it a bit odd in texture, I would give it a 3. Next time I would brown/bake the meatballs to get a bit crispy. The rest of the family thought that they were great and had them as hot meatball sandwiches and on hot pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This sounded really good, but I did everything exactly by the recipe and it was one of the worst. The kraut did not compliment the tomato based chili and the 'sweet and sour' I was going for did not turn out to be pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This recipe was very good. I have made it several times for my husband's Sunday football get togethers. The only thing I changed was instead of the sauerkraut, I put in the same amount of chopped white onion. The flavor is absolutely amazing and even my 4 year-old daughter can't quit eating them. UPDATE November 2010: I continue to use this recipe for EVERY family get together. We can't have a party without them or else everyone is completely disappointed. Seriously the easiest and best meatball recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I made these for New Year's Day, and everyone loved them! I only put in 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and they were still very sweet. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is THE BEST meatball recipe! I have made a variation of this for years, as well. I bake the meatball in the oven first, then add them to the crock pot (less grease), use jellied cranberry sauce and only 3-4 T chili sauce . This one is a keeper! Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was good...but I was looking for a bit more "bavarian taste"...not so much the sweet meatballs. I think next time I would add a few caraway seeds to this and maybe another can of sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
It's (the recipe) okay. I usually make a stroganoff style meatball which everyone loves. The flavors just didn't seem to mesh to me. I'm taking them to a party tonite. Will edit if others like them better than I did. **Edit. Well others said they were good, but they still liked my other recipe better. I might try it again minus the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was GREAT! These did not last long on the table at all. It smells fabulous too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudArmyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
As written it was OK. I thought the flavor was good, however the sauce tasted a bit "greasy/oily". If I make again, I probably oven bake the meatballs first and then add to the saurkraut mixture in the slow-cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This recipe is excellent! It has the weirdest ingredients I have ever combined, but the taste is fantastic. I took it with me to a Thanksgiving party and several people asked for the recipe. Very easy and very well received. I did double the amount of meatballs, but everything else was exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States