Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I have made these several times and there are never any left in the pot when I go home. I am ALWAYS asked for the recipe whenever I take these to any party. YUM! I also cook the meatballs before I put them into the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
FABULOUS!!!! Made them twice and love them more each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by einygav15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I made this for a birthday party and it was a huge hit. I didn't have chili sauce so I used a jar of tomato sauce instead. Everyone left asking me for the recipe. Thanks to all the previous raters for convincing me to try this recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Perfect as an appetizer for holiday parties. Most people are surprised by the delicious combination of cranberry sauce and sauerkraut. Definitely use WHOLE BERRY cranberry sauce. I usually reduce sugar to 1/2 cup, and use only 14 oz. of drained sauerkraut. Works equally well with beef, turkey or pork meatballs. Can be made ahead and frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
the idea of this recipe sounded really weird to me...but it is amazing! pre-cook the meatballs as suggested below so they arent spongy. I also added 1 can of pineapple chunks, and the juice in place of the water, 1/2 sweet onion cut in chunks and 1 small green pepper cut in chunks. I also used about 4 oz of mildly spicy chili sauce and 8 oz plain tomato sauce for a very mild kick. everyone at the office loved them for the pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Absolutely delicious!! I couldn't believe the taste treat. Brought them to a town picnic and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Juno Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
We love to entertain, usually 4 large cocktail/appetizer parties a year. Have made these twice a couple of times and everybody loves them. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
These were very poplular! My daughter and I made these together and were skeptical to try them because of the odd ingredients, but we finally sampled them and then couldn't get enough. I made a lot and they were gone by the end of the night and I had a few people request the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This is a great recipe for family get togethers. I have made this several times for our get togethers and keveryone loves it. My sister wanted the recipe so she could take it to pot luck at work. Can't beat this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This is a very tasty dish! The sauerkraut is not overpowering, nor is it too sweet. I served it to my church family, and they all loved it. I will be making it again soon! I loved being able to use frozen meatballs and just throw it all in the crock-pot. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States