Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This was a good recipe. Instead of using the cranberry sauce, I used grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I didn't try this because I am not a fan of Meatballs of any kin. However I had made this twice. Once for Thanksgiving and once for a family thing. It was a nice change to the traditional bbq meatballs. People loved the sweetness to it. It wasn't over powering and surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Always a crowd favorite, and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Made this for one of our "Beast Feasts" (wild game cookout) where over 50 people showed up. I made the meatballs (about 60) using venison then baked them before adding the rest of the ingredients in the crockpot. I had about 1/4 of the meatballs left at the end of the day but there were at least 15 other dishes served as well. One of the guests used some of the sauce on a Boston Butt chunk...so I tried that and it was fabulous! I think these would have gone over even better with a different audience...our guests were mostly good ol' boys who prefer to use fingers to forks at these outdoor gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
These meatballs were pretty good--good sweet and sour flavor. The sauerkraut turned off some of the guests from an appearance standpoint, but the flavor really was good! The recipe calls for "tomato based chili sauce" and I had the hardest time finding it--there is chili sauce in the oriental section, mexican section, chili section, but I finally found the correct chili sauce in with the ketchup! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnticEnerG

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I made the recipe as given and I found it a bit odd in texture, I would give it a 3. Next time I would brown/bake the meatballs to get a bit crispy. The rest of the family thought that they were great and had them as hot meatball sandwiches and on hot pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This sounded really good, but I did everything exactly by the recipe and it was one of the worst. The kraut did not compliment the tomato based chili and the 'sweet and sour' I was going for did not turn out to be pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This recipe was very good. I have made it several times for my husband's Sunday football get togethers. The only thing I changed was instead of the sauerkraut, I put in the same amount of chopped white onion. The flavor is absolutely amazing and even my 4 year-old daughter can't quit eating them. UPDATE November 2010: I continue to use this recipe for EVERY family get together. We can't have a party without them or else everyone is completely disappointed. Seriously the easiest and best meatball recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I made these for New Year's Day, and everyone loved them! I only put in 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and they were still very sweet. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is THE BEST meatball recipe! I have made a variation of this for years, as well. I bake the meatball in the oven first, then add them to the crock pot (less grease), use jellied cranberry sauce and only 3-4 T chili sauce . This one is a keeper! Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States