Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a huge hit at my new year's eve party. I was really excited because I've never made meat balls before (I grew up vegetarian pretty much, so meat fascinates me). I didn't need to get so excited, however, because people were eating them like they were going out of style. The ingredients seem weird, but they taste really good together. I made mine in a small, 2 quart slow cooker, and I recommend cutting down the recipe by at least half for a slow cooker that size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnyo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I thought it was pretty good, though we preferred it with more meatballs. I would say next time I would use a 32 oz bag of meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Made meatball sandwiches with these. everydody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Not something I loved, however, I think it had more to do with the meatballs. I'm sure this would have tasted better with a better quality of meatballs. Remember, you get what you pay for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
i love these meatballs. They are always the first thing to go when ever I make them for a party or gettogether. I great recipe all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
very good.My husband went crazy for this. I will make it again this weekend for an Octoberfest party. A great fall dish! I suggest using 2 lbs of meatballs b/c there is so much sauce left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
For a quick appetizer, this was a good recipe for frozen meatballs (Costco). I used a pound and a half of meatballs, and think two pounds would have been better. Plus, as others reviewers state, cut back on the sugar. I've got leftovers from the party last night, and with a little more this and that, I'll eat them over white rice. Couldn't find bavarian style kraut, so used kraut with wine (otherwise followed recipe exactly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Everyone was asking for the recipe on this one. I substituted a plain can of tomato sauce and added some chili powder as I couldn't find it in my grocery store. A few suggested onions, maybe I'll try it next time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
AWSOME....This is the dish everyone ask me to bring to a gathering!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.cookalot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I brought these to work and everyone loved them. I did not change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States