Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These are so easy and good! My husband does not like sour items, so the brown sugar did a good job of balancing the kraut and the tanginess of the cranberry sauce. I used two pounds of meatballs because there was enough sauce to cover all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Oustanding German style dish. Loved it!! Added a sweet onion to the recipe, served with a side of boiled potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Prettty tasty. Made them for a potluck dinner and everyone enjoyed them. I had trouble finding bavarian style saurkraut so I used regular saurkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Absolutely DELICIOUS. I have made this recipe several times for parties and events. Without fail, almost everyone who eats it for the first time, asks for the recipe. It is very different from conventional meatballs, but that is what makes it so popular. People are amazed when they hear the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very Good ! Might add green pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great tasting, easy recipe. As others have said, you can easily double the # of meatballs and still have plenty of sauce. Cook the meatballs in the oven first and reduce the sugar by 1/2. Loved the addition of pineapple chunks and juice to replace the water. I also added red pepper flakes for a kick. Makes a great leftover with rice. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
good, but needed probably a little less brown sugar and a little less cranberry sauce. It was a little too sweet for me. It was so rich I did'nt want to go back for seconds, but I think it could be better next time. I also added spicy brown mustard, hich helped and put in two packs of meatballs which was good because otherwise there would have been wayyyy too much sauce. Everyone else enjoyed these, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great recipe. I used 2 pkgs of frozen meatballs (1 lb, 12 oz each) which equals 3-1/2 lbs of meatballs. However, I doubled the chili sauce, cranberry sauce, added another 3/4 cup water and about another 3/4 cup brown sugar, but I did NOT add more sauerkraut. Turned out great. I took this to work and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I made these for my bunco night and everyone loved them! I followed some previous reviewers' advice and made a few changes. First, I used two pounds of meatballs-there was plenty of sauce and I think one pound would have just been swimming in it. I also subbed in a chopped onion for the sauerkraut and I cut the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. Delicious-I'll be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
my bf loved it, and couldn't stop eating them! we will be making again bc its so easy and delish. we ate them on toasted sourdough rolls :) the recipe does make a lot of extra sauce, so next time i will add more meat balls. also i popped the meatball in the oven for about 20 minutes, while i was opening and mixing everything else in the crockpot. the sauce is sweet, very good how it is, but i can see how a little less sugar would be good too... altogether, a winner bc of it being easy, great, and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denay4love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States