Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by DaddysGyrl1028
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Love Love Love this recipe! Used 1/3c dark brown sugar 2/3c light brown sugar! And omitted the h20,covored & baked sause in oven @ 350 for a few hours added fresh homemade baked meatballs baked again for 30ish min to thickened sause just a lil more! Sooooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaddysGyrl1028

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this recipe for the first time and took it to work for a going farewell potluck. Everyone loved it! It was one of the first dishes to run out (I thought doubling it would be enough). Several people have asked me for the recipe! Don't be afraid to try it even if you don't like sauerkraut. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These are so easy and good! My husband does not like sour items, so the brown sugar did a good job of balancing the kraut and the tanginess of the cranberry sauce. I used two pounds of meatballs because there was enough sauce to cover all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Oustanding German style dish. Loved it!! Added a sweet onion to the recipe, served with a side of boiled potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Prettty tasty. Made them for a potluck dinner and everyone enjoyed them. I had trouble finding bavarian style saurkraut so I used regular saurkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Absolutely DELICIOUS. I have made this recipe several times for parties and events. Without fail, almost everyone who eats it for the first time, asks for the recipe. It is very different from conventional meatballs, but that is what makes it so popular. People are amazed when they hear the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very Good ! Might add green pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great tasting, easy recipe. As others have said, you can easily double the # of meatballs and still have plenty of sauce. Cook the meatballs in the oven first and reduce the sugar by 1/2. Loved the addition of pineapple chunks and juice to replace the water. I also added red pepper flakes for a kick. Makes a great leftover with rice. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
good, but needed probably a little less brown sugar and a little less cranberry sauce. It was a little too sweet for me. It was so rich I did'nt want to go back for seconds, but I think it could be better next time. I also added spicy brown mustard, hich helped and put in two packs of meatballs which was good because otherwise there would have been wayyyy too much sauce. Everyone else enjoyed these, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great recipe. I used 2 pkgs of frozen meatballs (1 lb, 12 oz each) which equals 3-1/2 lbs of meatballs. However, I doubled the chili sauce, cranberry sauce, added another 3/4 cup water and about another 3/4 cup brown sugar, but I did NOT add more sauerkraut. Turned out great. I took this to work and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States