Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes of all time! I made this for an Oktoberfest party at school a few years ago and I haven't quit making it since! Only problem is that it makes the whole house smell like sauerkraut! I usually throw this in the crock pot and let it cook all night. It really allows the flavor to sink in. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
These were a huge hit at my Oktoberfest dinner. I was nervous because of the ingredients and could not imagine how it would turn out delicious but it did! Everyone loved these meatballs and sauce and wanted the recipe. I am recommending it to all and will be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brightbritain
Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Served this last night as an hors d'oeuvre. My guests loved them! All the ladies asked for the recipe. Most of them said they do not like sauerkraut but this recipe was a wonderful way of camouflaging the sauerkraut flavour. I bought frozen meatballs which is such a time saver & they were wonderful. I added a few more meatballs in the crock pot than indicated in the recipe. I also used golden yellow sugar. I think cutting the amount of sugar as suggested by others is definitely a matter of personal taste and although I do not have a sweet tooth I actually enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made this last-night except I could only get regular sauerkraut. I was worried it would be nasty but my husband and motherinlaw loved it. I wasn't crazy about it personally but they want it again and went back for seconds. We served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This recipe is something different! I brought it to a pot luck and it was well liked. I used turkey meat balls and they turned out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Wow, these are a new family favorite, nice balance of sweet & sour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
OK, the only reason I made this was because my daughter is taking Geman in school, and she needed it for Octoberfest. Looking at the ingredients, it didn't excite me. I was expecting to give it 2 stars. I'm giving it 3 because it was better than I expected... THAT SAID, I cut the sugar down by 2/3rds and it was still pretty darn sweet, Also, there really is no reason to make this in a crockpot unless you want to. But REALLY *** do cut down on the sugar ***..... you can always add more if you like.... Oh, and I used 3 pounds of meatballs with the amount of everything else being the same, and tehre was plenty of "fixin's".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garlic Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Made these for a German themed Christmas party I threw a few years ago. After looking at the ingredients, my husband didn't want anything to do with them. I told him I chose them because the recipe was highly rated. He tried one when they were done and LOVED them. They were a big hit at the party and many of my guests said they wished they had taken more home, although, they wouldn't have been able to anyway since there were none left. I do want to add though, like someone else that reviewed these, I couldn't find chili sauce, so I used plain tomato sauce and chili powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I have made these twice to take to covered dish events. Everyone loved them. I doubled the meatballs and still had plenty of sauce. I followed another readers suggestion and baked the meatballs first. This helped them to be crispier and also removed a lot of the grease. We all really enjoyed this dish. Now I'm wondering how it would be to follow the same recipe using bratwurst slices instead of meatballs. Has anyone tried it that way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sylva, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
It was good just the appearance wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States