Bavarian Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by debc
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I cooked this today for my husband. It was great, my son and his girlfriend showed up just as we finished. The both dug in the crockpot and love, love, loved it!!! Great recipie - I will cook this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I don't care for how most sauerkraut dishes, but this is how I remember enjoying sauerkraut in Germany. It is delicious! My only suggestion is to always rinse sauerkraut using warm water and drain well. I've also made this recipe using white wine and beef broth instead of sherry and chicken stock. I like to serve this with any pork or sausage and red skin boiled potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Don't expect typical stinky American sauerkraut with this recipe. This is sweet and doesn't even taste like cabbage. This is how sauerkraut is made in Germany and the recipe is very easy and good. I am a vegetarian and so I used butter instead of bacon grease and vegetable broth instead of chicken stock. It still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was excellent. Most other ones call for tons of fatty pork but I swear this makes kraut which is just as good. I appreciated the other reviews. Am on vacation and didn't have enough sherry so added wine to make up the difference. I'll try another reviewer's suggestion of red wine today. Thanks to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was very good. The caraway seed flavor was a little much for me but my husband and kids loved it. I would probably reduce the caraway seed to half or 3/4 next time. But that's strictly a preference, overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Loved the flavor. I would do this again any time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made this for a kids birthday party, but for the adults. I omitted the bacon and substituted red wine for Sherry and it turned out great. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made this to go with a pork tenderloin. Thought it was excellent. I used all of the ingredients listed. I wound up cooking it twice as long as suggested, but I like my sauerkraut smushy, not crunchy. I wasn't sure about the sherry taste, but it def. cooks down into a very subtle flavor and adds just a , faint detection. I will def. make this again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is great but I made a few adjustments. Substituted lager instead of the chicken stock and added a tablespoon of agave nectar as I felt it needed a little something. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suerumer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Sauerkraut Salad

Quick and easy salad with sauerkraut and vegetables. Great as a side, or on top o

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States