Bavarian Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I've been making this for years. While it's good as is, I use apple cider instead of juice and increase it to 2 1/2 cups. I also add 2t of ginger. Definitely cook the carrots with the beef...they end up tasting like apples. And if I have apples on hand when I'm making this, I'll slice up a couple and throw them in as well. Whether cooked in a crock pot, in the oven or on the stove top, this comes out delicious every time. Yes it has a unique taste but that is what makes it so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Our family agreed that the flavour was odd. Followed the directions exactly. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I've been trying to decide between 2 and 3 stars. Made exactly as written. It smelled a lot like Thanksgiving in the house while it cooked, but much to our shock, it lacked flavor. Just didn't work for any of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Excellent flavor, delightfully unexpected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This roast did not have any flavor, even adding seasoning to the flour and meat before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I really liked this, I made just as the recipe says except I added a beef boullion, different but very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBadSeed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Substituted a bottle of domestic beer for the apple juice and cut the cinnamon in half, per earlier reviews. Otherwise no changes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The meat was a little dry but the flavor was incredible. The sauce is absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except to halve the cinnamon. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Made this tonight and everyone (including all my kids) loved it and loved the gravy. I did cut the cinnamon in half as a personal preference. I threw carrots in the pot with the meat and the kids ate them up. Will definitely continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States