Bavarian Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I found this recipe about 7 years ago and I have been making them every Christmas. My son says they are "mandatory". These really are amazing...better than any fudge ever. They are so creamy and smooth, and the mint is not overpowering at all. We all love them. When it comes time to leave them in the fridge and hand-beat every few minutes, leave the blade from your mixer in the bowl - it's so much easier to use than trying to do it with a wooden spoon! I highly recommend this recipe -- easy and fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
My family adores the Fannie May mint meltaways and these are it. But whatever you do please do not use mint extract use the peppermint extract that is called for. I made the mistake one day and it was a fakey mint taste. You need the peppermint taste like the York peppermint patties. I also covered them in melted white chocolate mixed with a tiny amount green food coloring to give it that mint meltaway look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Great mints, taste a lot like the russell stovers french mints. The consistency is a lot like fudge so i bought a few extra bags of milk choclate and layered the bottom of a cookie sheet with wax paper, then melted the milk choclate and covered the wax before putting in the recipe listed above it. Then i cute the peices and added mroe choaclte so tehy were coated. makes for a delicous treat for holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
The common reaction I received "better than store bought"! Melted in our mouths. Christmas gatherers of all ages loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is delicious! I only beat the chocolate mix once until really smooth and the batches I've made have turned out great. Also, I put 2tsp of mint in the mix. This recipe is also a great base for other chocolate combinations. I've made a orange chocolate: 1.5 tsp of orange extract and 1/2tsp of vanilla. My husband LOVES this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I don't think all of the procedures were included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Made these for some friends at a BBQ & everyone loved them & asked for the recipe! They're kind of like brownies, except totally fudge-y--so what's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
These were a hit! I did add more flavoring then it called for. I add about 2 1/2 tsp. to give it more flavor. Will definetely make them more. Be sure and grease the pan lightly. They were alittle hard to get out but wonderful to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Made these to go on my cookie platter to the neighbors. YUMMY!!! Easy to make and makes alot if cut into small size pieces. Just the right amount of mint flavor too! Will be using this recipe for years to come. Made recipe as written. I didn't dip in chocolate either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
These are amazing! Just like the mint melt-aways in the fancy candy shops. I subbed mint extract for the peppermint, and tripled it. I think it was better for the switch. This recipe actually makes about 100 pieces. I wrapped them in foil and twisted the ends. They were a big hit in my gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States