Bavarian Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I used only one bag of semi-sweet and one bag of milk chocolate, but every time I make these they come out perfect. I usually receive them for Christmastime as a counter to my Aunt's rich fudge. I also used an 11x7 pan instead. They are a little thinner that way. Great taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I love this recipe! They came out creamy & delicious. My only suggestion would be to use good quality chocolate chips (the ones i=n the foil bag) & real butter. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This is sinfully delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Overall, these taste great! But I had some difficulty with the prep. I substituted cocoa and vegetable oil for the unsweetened chocolate, which I think was a mistake. When I mixed the ingredients, it turned into a thick, hard-to-mix glop and I wound up literally burning up the motor in my hand mixer trying to mix it. The mixture eventually separated: part of it was an impossibly thick chocolate, and part was an oily, yellowish substance (the butter, maybe, or the butter and oil?). Since my mixer was dead, I had to beat it by hand, which didn't work at all. I spread the mixture in the pan and chilled it, then cut it into 1/2" squares. They weren't pretty, but they tasted great, so I dipped them in dark chocolate. Yum.... I would make this again, but I would not substitute any ingredients and I would use a heavy-duty stand mixer instead of a hand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I found this recipe about 7 years ago and I have been making them every Christmas. My son says they are "mandatory". These really are amazing...better than any fudge ever. They are so creamy and smooth, and the mint is not overpowering at all. We all love them. When it comes time to leave them in the fridge and hand-beat every few minutes, leave the blade from your mixer in the bowl - it's so much easier to use than trying to do it with a wooden spoon! I highly recommend this recipe -- easy and fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
My family adores the Fannie May mint meltaways and these are it. But whatever you do please do not use mint extract use the peppermint extract that is called for. I made the mistake one day and it was a fakey mint taste. You need the peppermint taste like the York peppermint patties. I also covered them in melted white chocolate mixed with a tiny amount green food coloring to give it that mint meltaway look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Great mints, taste a lot like the russell stovers french mints. The consistency is a lot like fudge so i bought a few extra bags of milk choclate and layered the bottom of a cookie sheet with wax paper, then melted the milk choclate and covered the wax before putting in the recipe listed above it. Then i cute the peices and added mroe choaclte so tehy were coated. makes for a delicous treat for holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
The common reaction I received "better than store bought"! Melted in our mouths. Christmas gatherers of all ages loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is delicious! I only beat the chocolate mix once until really smooth and the batches I've made have turned out great. Also, I put 2tsp of mint in the mix. This recipe is also a great base for other chocolate combinations. I've made a orange chocolate: 1.5 tsp of orange extract and 1/2tsp of vanilla. My husband LOVES this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States