Bavarian Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I looked for years for a recipe to make French Mints at home. This is it! I made these for a chocolate café party and they were one of the main attractions! Never losing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby Nyberg Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Help! I melted the chocolate over low heat, and it looked so pretty. Oops, I forgot the butter. No problem, I thought, I would just add it in now. As soon as I did that, my creamy chocolate melt started to solidify. I have run into this problem before with chocolate fondue, and I have learned that more heat DOES NOT fix the problem. So I took my lumpy mixture off the stove, quickly added the other ingredients and beat to hell until it was smooth. Without any extra chilling, I dumped it (there was no pouring involved) onto the pan and coaxed it into a square level shape. Does adding the butter after the fact really matter that much? I don't even like mint chocolate, and I wanted to make these a gift to my husband for our anniversary coming up. Perfection seems to matter a lot more when you are giving away what you are cooking. I think they will taste okay, but I'm not sure what the texture will be like. :( I don't know how to rate this recipe, because clearly I screwed it up somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I beat once, and followed others' suggestions to use more peppermint (2 tsp instead of 1). These were creamy and delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These are WONDERFUL!! I had to put them in the freezer so everyone would stop eating them so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I didn't have full milk chocolate, so I had to substitute for a little less than half with semi-sweet chocolate chips. Also, as per reviews, I added an extra teaspoon of peppermint extract. This was abslotely necessary!!!! For the Holidays you can melt white chocolate with red food coloring and green and drizzle over it. After they cooled, I melted more chocolate and spooned over them nicely. They looked very pretty and then on some I sprinkled some red or green sugar and some with little round sprinkles, they tasted good! Everyone loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I used only one bag of semi-sweet and one bag of milk chocolate, but every time I make these they come out perfect. I usually receive them for Christmastime as a counter to my Aunt's rich fudge. I also used an 11x7 pan instead. They are a little thinner that way. Great taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I love this recipe! They came out creamy & delicious. My only suggestion would be to use good quality chocolate chips (the ones i=n the foil bag) & real butter. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This is sinfully delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Overall, these taste great! But I had some difficulty with the prep. I substituted cocoa and vegetable oil for the unsweetened chocolate, which I think was a mistake. When I mixed the ingredients, it turned into a thick, hard-to-mix glop and I wound up literally burning up the motor in my hand mixer trying to mix it. The mixture eventually separated: part of it was an impossibly thick chocolate, and part was an oily, yellowish substance (the butter, maybe, or the butter and oil?). Since my mixer was dead, I had to beat it by hand, which didn't work at all. I spread the mixture in the pan and chilled it, then cut it into 1/2" squares. They weren't pretty, but they tasted great, so I dipped them in dark chocolate. Yum.... I would make this again, but I would not substitute any ingredients and I would use a heavy-duty stand mixer instead of a hand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States