Bavarian Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
These are pretty good and very easy to make. The only problem I had was I found them to be a little on the dry side. If I make them again I think I will substitute oil for butter or find a cake mix that requires butter, not oil like the one I used. But please don't be discouraged from trying these are are pretty good and so easy it's worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N.NERO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
surprised at bedtime with news of a class party the next morning, all i had in the pantry was a chocolate cake mix and some chocolate chips. Thank goodness i found this recipe online. It was a real life-saver. The results were flawless. Thanks Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Good recipe! I added a little more liquid to keep them from being dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I make these all of the time, in fact, we just had them at a party tonight. The mix is very dry, but the brownies turn out exellent and they are so easy. Try them topped with vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
These were good and easy to make. After reading what everyone else said about the batter being dry, I melted the butter instead of using it softened. That helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
My hubby came home quite late last night and says he needed a batch of brownies for a bake sale in the morning. Needless to say I freaked. All my brownie recipes call for 4 or more eggs. Thankfully, I found this recipe. And to think you make it out of a cake mix. Even better. I thru them together in no time. I of course had to try them before I just gave them to my hubby. Well, I only wrapped up 16, kept the other 8 for myself. He sure wasn't getting the whole batch. Not after I tasted them. Thanks a whole bunch for this time saving recipe. Definately will be making this again, plus will be passing it on to my daughter. She just loves easy brownie and cookie recipes. And this one is right up her alley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
These brownies were too dry for my liking. I prefer something fudgier and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Easy to fix and tasty. I took the advice of another reviewer and used oil instead of butter. The brownies were moist and great with Blue Bell ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Daughter had a sleepover and wanted to make brownies (spur of the moment). All I had was a yellow cake mix and chocolate chips. We made this without nuts and increased the butter just a tad. They were yummy! We called them Golden Brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
VERY dry...good idea, but as is needs modifications to increase moistness. Extra oil helps. I also iced with German chocolate icing, so with those additions, everyone enjoyed, although still a bit dry. This recipe needs adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States