Batter White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I had to try this recipe 2. The first time it tasted great coming out of the oven but it was VERY HEAVY! I tried again the second time and it came out perfect. As other people have mentioned it is important that the water is very hot. This is an easy recipe when you want a little hassle homemade bread. It is great with soups and stew although I don't think I would try it as sandwich bread since the consistency is a little bit different than a kneaded bread recipe. The only changes I made was to use olive oil instead of shortening the second time and I mixed it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Easiest yeast bread recipe I've ever made with excellent results. I also made a cinnamon bread by increasing the suger to 1/3 cup. After the first rise I sprinkled a mixture of 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon over the top then gently folded it in to make swirls of cinnamon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is basically the same recipe from my grandmother and is my favorite fall bread. Makes the most wonderful toast and is great with stews because it is so dense. Even people who can't cook should try this because it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This is a kind of weird recipe. It's not really a batter, and the mixing doesn't really work because it's dough, and the spoon just kind of knocks the lump around. It doesn't really taste like anything in particular, and the texture is odd. It is much easier than kneaded dough, but for me it was too much effort for an iffy result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
Wonderful! This bread turned out great. It was a snap to make and it tastes great too! I used olive oil and honey in place of the shortening and sugar. I heated my oven a bit, then turned the oven off and let it rise in there for the first rising. Then I sat it on top of the stove to rise in the pan while the oven heated up. It rose very well, it's just flatter on top than kneaded bread, but all yeast batter breads are like that. I did use an 8" pan instead of a 9". I have a bread knife and the loaf hardly had crumbs at all while cutting. It sliced up very nicely. Next I will try it with a little wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I had been trying all sorts of recipes for Batter White Bread looking for just the right one for my family and friends. YOURS IS IT!! After baking, I placed it on a plate in a plastic bag and buttered the top. About five minutes after it had cooled, I took a slice. It cut so smoothly and tasted like bread from a bakery! THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
This is the first loaf of bread I've ever made that wasn't hard as a rock. It's not heavy at all, and easy as all get out! Most of the loaves I've made have taken 5 hours at the very shortest. This one only took me two and a half hours! I had so much fun doing it that I'll be teaching my five year old son how to make it tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is a wonderful bread. Reading some reviews that said it was a little dense, I sifted the flour before measuring and also added the remaining flour one spoonful at a time. The batter is VERY sticky, so be aware. I also found the batter to be a bit salty, so I add less. Despite all of this, it is still 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly, no substitutions or added touches, and it came out wonderful. This is both easy to make and tastes great - it was all gone within half an hour after I took it out of the oven!!! This bread will definitely be something I will make a few times a week from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Good bread. Kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lisbon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States