Batter White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This is a kind of weird recipe. It's not really a batter, and the mixing doesn't really work because it's dough, and the spoon just kind of knocks the lump around. It doesn't really taste like anything in particular, and the texture is odd. It is much easier than kneaded dough, but for me it was too much effort for an iffy result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
My husband's favorite. I use half of the recommended salt. I just don't like a salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I had been trying all sorts of recipes for Batter White Bread looking for just the right one for my family and friends. YOURS IS IT!! After baking, I placed it on a plate in a plastic bag and buttered the top. About five minutes after it had cooled, I took a slice. It cut so smoothly and tasted like bread from a bakery! THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is a simple to make white bread. It made my house smell like a bakery. I love the crust on the bread but you have to eat it while it's warm. The crust really softens up if you have it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I have tried many bread recipes, and I have to say that this one cuts the cake. Perfect texture and excellent for sandwiches, toast etc! Wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Easiest yeast bread recipe I've ever made with excellent results. I also made a cinnamon bread by increasing the suger to 1/3 cup. After the first rise I sprinkled a mixture of 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon over the top then gently folded it in to make swirls of cinnamon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is basically the same recipe from my grandmother and is my favorite fall bread. Makes the most wonderful toast and is great with stews because it is so dense. Even people who can't cook should try this because it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
It was very easy to make this bread but I thought it was a bit salty.. although my husband told me that this bread is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This is the quickest, easiest yeast bread I have ever made! And the resulting loaf is delicious. I was a little hesitant to try it at first, thinking it might be rather "cakey," but you'd never know it wasn't kneaded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This is an excellent bread recipe for a begining bread baker, or one who has not baked bread in a long time. It was easy to prepare, and tasted great. What more can a person ask for. Bonnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States