Batter White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
Perfect!!!!!!! I have attempted many bread recipes and have had no success, but now I know the secret... MAKE SURE YOUR WATER TEMPERATURE IS 110 DEGREES. I had the standard inexpensive meat thermometer that starts at 140 degrees & estimated where 110 degrees should be. The bread rose right on time (one hour after mixing & 30 minutes in the pan) and tastes wonderful. I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could... THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This was so good! I had never made bread before that didn't come out of my bread machine and this recipe turned out so good that I would think it was foolproof! You don't need to melt your butter to brush on the bread after, it will be so hot out of the oven it will melt it for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
I've made this 2 times already. It has good taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
If I could, I'd rate 10 stars! ((Smiles widely)) this was the first semi success I had with making my own bread...I say semi success because it rose at least ((laughs)). I am the world's worst bread maker. I can't even get prepackaged bread dough to rise and work for me. I was skeptical to try this, I swear. I read the reviews and I thought ok, I'll give it one more try...my sister is going to kill me...but it was DELIC! One reviewer said it was too yeasty for them, and I thought perhaps just a tad, but when I took it of the oven and it was just as pretty as could be, I couldn't help myself but be proud of it! I can't promise I'll attempt to make bread again, seems like so much work when I can buy just what I want for 59 cents at Wal-Mart. There are only two of us here and neither one of us are big bread eaters. I served this bread with a homemade cream of celery soup. I cannot say how much I enjoyed my bread making excursion enough! If anyone out there is like me (I swear I can't be the only one)...if you're hesitant about trying a bread recipe, this one is E A S Y ! ! ! Give it a try, you won't be disappointed. I did let it rise in the microwave though..seemed to do quite well in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMERALDSEYE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skaneateles, New York, USA
Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
If you want the taste of simple homemade white bread using ingredients and equipment that you probably have on hand already, this is it. My husband thought it was a bit yeasty tasting, but this was probably due to my following the 'quick rise in the oven with the pilot light on' tip. A slower rise outside of the oven should cure this problem. I thought it was pretty good taste wise and texturally, especially for the little effort and time required to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Very good.....excellant the next day. Makes wonderful french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
This was so easy to make! And it tasted really great, too! I didn't make any ingredient changes and loved it! Thanks for a super-easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
This was the first time I have made homemade bread and it turned out wonderful. My husband ate half the loaf as soon as it came out of the oven. I did decrease the salt as mentioned in other reviews. Very good bread to eat with a meal. This was very easy and I will make again. Thanks so much for sharing Ed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
EXCELLENT! I was going to try a different recipe, but didnt have any bread flour. So i made this recipe last night for dinner.I did step one like it said, then i mix with my hands thinking it was going to be to much for my hand mixer.I used half the salt because of other reviews and a little more sugar. Maybe i didnt mix enough but my batter was like a real soft dough. I let it rise in the microwave and then baked it. It was PERFECT!! Good tasting yeast bread. Cant wait to make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I found this recipe to be very fast to make and my whole family loves it. No kneeding so I really love to make it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States