Batter White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
wonderful bread, perfect for a beginner baker, even my 13 year old son loves to make this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA
Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I had to try this recipe 2. The first time it tasted great coming out of the oven but it was VERY HEAVY! I tried again the second time and it came out perfect. As other people have mentioned it is important that the water is very hot. This is an easy recipe when you want a little hassle homemade bread. It is great with soups and stew although I don't think I would try it as sandwich bread since the consistency is a little bit different than a kneaded bread recipe. The only changes I made was to use olive oil instead of shortening the second time and I mixed it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Very, very good. My husband raved and he's the bread maker of the family. Easy enough to make everyday and excellent on the budget. I enjoyed the tips on enhancing this recipie too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I'm a novice baker, so I'm not sure if I did something wrong... I made this bread twice, and both times the inside was slightly soggy. Flavour-wise, it tasted sorta yeasty too, although possibly it was because I used instant active yeast instead of active dry. I did hear tell that when substituting instant for active dry, I should reduce the amt of yeast to .8 the original amount. Will try it again keeping this in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
Wonderful! This bread turned out great. It was a snap to make and it tastes great too! I used olive oil and honey in place of the shortening and sugar. I heated my oven a bit, then turned the oven off and let it rise in there for the first rising. Then I sat it on top of the stove to rise in the pan while the oven heated up. It rose very well, it's just flatter on top than kneaded bread, but all yeast batter breads are like that. I did use an 8" pan instead of a 9". I have a bread knife and the loaf hardly had crumbs at all while cutting. It sliced up very nicely. Next I will try it with a little wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
5 stars each for flavor and ease of making, but is too crumbly to slice and use as sandwich bread or to toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This is a very nice bread. I like that it uses all-purpose flour and only makes one loaf. I did have to knead it a little to incorporate all of the flour. The only other change I made was to oil the bowl. I have made it a couple of times and really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
fantastic! so many recipes want a bread machine, but I prefer to make stuff by hand :) glad to see a good recipe, bread-machine-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Pretty good. I prefer the old-fashioned kneaded bread. This doesn't rise as high. But, it's a good alternative if you don't have time to knead. It has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Great recipe. I'm single and live alone, this is great for one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States