Batter White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Good bread. Kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lisbon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Well, even an amateur bread maker like me pulled this one off. Was a little denser than store bought, but I was delighted by the results I was able to achieve with a little hand mixer and my hands. LOL, the little mixer was straining and I finally had to mix the last bits of flour in by hand. Was simple enough even for my limited bread making skills. Not too yeasty in flavor, a mild bread for sandwiches. Maybe my oven runs hot, but it was done about 6 min. before the minimum suggested cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by KARENKAY1
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Very good recipe. Makes a wonderful loaf of bread with very nice texture and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by muddy
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
excelent and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
i would give this 5 star, except it didn't *quite* turn out. I need to check my oven's actual temp, and begin adjusting accordingly. this is the first loaf of white bread that cooked perfect inside, but the outside was too done. A me problem, not a bread problem. I doubled the recipe for 2 loafs... it tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
this was good, and im not sure i even made it -right- had trouble getting a good rise, was a little drafty in the house. Did have a slight cake texture to it but very subtle. Crust was delightful. Thank you for a quick and easy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
wonderful bread, perfect for a beginner baker, even my 13 year old son loves to make this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA
Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I had to try this recipe 2. The first time it tasted great coming out of the oven but it was VERY HEAVY! I tried again the second time and it came out perfect. As other people have mentioned it is important that the water is very hot. This is an easy recipe when you want a little hassle homemade bread. It is great with soups and stew although I don't think I would try it as sandwich bread since the consistency is a little bit different than a kneaded bread recipe. The only changes I made was to use olive oil instead of shortening the second time and I mixed it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Very, very good. My husband raved and he's the bread maker of the family. Easy enough to make everyday and excellent on the budget. I enjoyed the tips on enhancing this recipie too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I'm a novice baker, so I'm not sure if I did something wrong... I made this bread twice, and both times the inside was slightly soggy. Flavour-wise, it tasted sorta yeasty too, although possibly it was because I used instant active yeast instead of active dry. I did hear tell that when substituting instant for active dry, I should reduce the amt of yeast to .8 the original amount. Will try it again keeping this in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States