Batter White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
I don't know if I did something wrong, but this recipe did not turn out well for me. It didn't rise at all, although it had an ok flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
Foolproof recipe that makes a delicious and tasty loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
first attempt at making bread-very very good. also tried it using butter as shortening which made it a little salty, but still good. made excellent toast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
I've made it several times and everyone who's tried it says it is great and they can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I made this using half A-P flour & half bread flour. It went together really well. I used my Kitchenaide stand mixer & it did all the work. It was good as is & very good as toast as well. Definitely a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
This was my first attempt at baking bread. I'm no stranger to handling dough (tortilla/pizza/egg-roll), but the ease and speed with which I was able to complete this task came as a welcome surprise. The loaf was perfect for the soup that I was serving. **Note to Ed: Thanks for making my long anticipated attempt at breadmaking a pleasant one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2000
very heavy but good tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2000
Thanks so much for this recipe. My daughter is allergic to milk, and as an avid bread baker, I was pleased to find this easy, tasty recipe, made without milk. Now my daughter can eat white bread, just like her brothers. My husband also loved the bread and compared it to a cross between a cake and a bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2000
This recipe is great. I tried it with bread flour, all purpose flour, and a combination of half & half. I found I prefer using half & half. It has a little firmer texture. I also tried adding a half cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese---Yummy!! It really qualifies as a quick bread as it only takes around three hours to get homemade bread. So far, I have given a copy of the recipe to six others who were also enthused at it's ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2000
This makes a super easy and very yummy white bread. I used butter as my shortening and on top, and it was decadant! I was planning to make french toast with the bread, but it got eaten too quick! I just made it again substuting a cup of wheat flower for one of the cups of white, and using olive oil, and it made for a much stickier dough (you even might have to eliminate some of the flour, and use your hands to combine) but it is still quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States